No Spoilers

The downside of watching the finale of season 2 of The Mandalorian right after I woke up, got out of bed, dragged a comb across my head, is that no one else has seen it and I can’t talk about it. Normally I would listen to a recap podcast or five and I can’t even do that. I beat them all to the punch.

I need to share my fanboy happiness with other people and no one around has seen it. It’s like some new form of torture!

This has been a brutally long week for some reason. Well, the last two days at least. Just loooooong. We’re going out to look at Christmas lights tomorrow. Fully masked up, with armor plated windows on the car. The ‘rona’s gonna need a tank to get at us, and that’s how it should be. The city actually released a map of quality light viewing locations. We’re going to pick a few off tonight. Wish me luck, both with the light displays and not spoiling Mando.

So Much Star Wars

I’m a few days late for this, but I’ve been reading up on some of the new Star Wars projects that Disney and Lucasfilm announced the other day. There is little to no info on most of them, so there’s not much to say, but here are a few thoughts.

Rogue Squadron. A stand alone movie that sounds like it’s probably related to the old video games and is directed by Patty Jenkins. Umm… TAKE MY MONEY!

An as yet untitled and still unwritten Taika Waititi film. No info at all. Thor Ragnarok was wonderful, but after seeing Jojo Rabbit, Lucasfilm can TAKE MY MONEY!!

Obi-Wan Kenobie. A Disney+ series staring Ewan McGregor AND Hayden Christensen returning as Darth Vader? I am more excited about this than all of the others. Imagine… if this is good it could erase a lot of the bad feelings left over from the prequels. Then again, it might require some serious retconing of the events leading up to A New Hope. I’m a little scared about that, but if it works it could be incredible. In short, TAKE MY MONEY!!!

Ahsoka. After about 6000 episodes of the Clone Wars and Rebels, our favorite animated Jedi Padawan finally made the leap to live action in The Mandalorian a few weeks ago and Rosario Dawsom absolutely nailed it. TAKE MY MONEY!!!!

Rangers of the New Republic. A story that parallels The Mandalorian. I wonder if it will center on the two X-Wing pilots we’ve seen this season. No clue, but TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!

Lando. Enough said, TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!

Andor. This one is interesting. A Cassian Andor based spin off of Rogue One. I didn’t think I would be interested in this, and it’s been rumored (at least) for quite a while. Now that I see it spelled out, and knowing that it just went into production a few weeks ago, I realize I really want to see this. TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!!

The Acolyte. We know it’s going to be a mystery series that will take us back to the High Republic. All good stuff. Then add that it’s coming from the creator of the Netflix show Russian Doll and this becomes really exciting (Russian Doll is fantastic, go watch it). TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!!!

The Bad Batch, Visions and A Droid Story. Eh. Given the wildly spectacular success of The Mandalorian, I think my patience with animated Star Wars is pretty much run out. I’ll probably watch them, but mostly just because they will exist.

In summation allow me to make this blanket statement to the folks at Disney, Lucasfilm, and Disney+: TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Mandalorian: How Good is it Really?

No spoilers.

I just watched the new episode of The Mandalorian and it’s lead me to ask a rhetorical question of the universe.

Is this show really as good as I think it is, or am I just such a complete Star Wars fanatic that it appears fantastic to me when it’s actually less than stellar?

I think we’ve had six episodes in season two. With the exception of episode two, I have finished each viewing thinking to myself something along the lines of, well they’ll never top this one. The second episode was excellent but probably not better than the first. Three through six just kept one upping the awesome. Some of it is formula; Mando goes to someone for help and they say sure, but you have to do this quest for me first. The season has felt like an old TV western about the traveling gun fighter. The Lone Ranger with a cooler mask. There have been call backs and cameos the likes of which we never expected. The action sequences and special effects are movie quality and the story we’re following is gripping. Even given how good the first season was, I can’t believe how good season two has been.

But has it been that good, really? Speaking as a lifelong Star Wars fanboy, is my reaction to the quality of the show accurate or is it so colored by 40+ years of fandom that I can’t see the Endor forest for the trees?

My one complaint is still that the episodes tend to run really short. This week’s was less than 30 minutes. That doesn’t take away from anything, but it does leave me wanting more.

Just watch it. I may not be 100% objective, but I think it’s pretty close to perfect.

Take the Bad, Take the Good

I have a bad feeling about tomorrow. I’m not sure why, but I think tomorrow is going to be a grade A shit day.

On the plus side though, there will be a new episode of The Mandalorian.

You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and then you have the facts of life. Yeah, the facts of life.

This is the way.

I have spoken.

Distraction

Between watching The Flash and playing guitar and writing a few songs worth of lyrics and watching 30 Rock with Jen and Harry I have successfully managed to avoid stressing out of the coup trump is attempting. Mostly.

So Georgia is going to do a hand recount. What is cheeto going to do when the results come back for Biden again? Is he going to want a second recount?

Oh so there I go paying attention again.

Fucking nazis.

A Good Start

I just watched the first episode of season two of The Mandalorian. It was good. No spoilers but Baby Yoda on a speeder bike is my new favorite thing.

So that’s step one.

Up next is eliminating the fascist infestation from our government. Election day 2020. Tuesday, 11/3/20. Yeah I’ve already voted, but I’m so excited/nervous/thrilled/scared/hyped/terrified that I can’t even think straight.

Star Wars and Democracy, just a few days apart. Brilliant!

Fall To-Do List

Hockey is over and it won’t be back for a while. Baseball is over and it won’t be back for a while. Movies are over and they won’t be back for a while.

What’s to look forward to?

The Mandalorian comes out tomorrow. Season two. That’s something to look forward to. I have spoken. This is the way.

Star Trek Discovery is back. We’re a couple of episodes into season three but I haven’t watched yet.

The first Marvel series on Disney+ is coming out in December.

I have a new guitar pedal coming. It shipped this morning. National Solo Album Month kicks off on Sunday. Coincidence? I don’t think so.

Christmas? Thanksgiving? Covid-19 vaccines? That’s all up in the air still.

Election day? I’ve already voted, but I am cautiously optimistic that the fascists will be eradicated.