Nothing special here. Just an excuse for some guitarmonies. 50/90 is now 8% complete. Crazy.
Tag: Song Writing
Three Down, 47 to Go
I actually kinda like this one. The bass and drums were noodled together on Friday. The rhythm guitars, melody and lyrics came yesterday. The vocals, leads, and mix came today.
Harry is letting me use a pair of AirPod Max. I mixed this song using them. I need to listen on different speakers to know for sure if they are accurate. I’m thinking they respond pretty well, especially when the volumes up too high.
Today’s Guitar Haul
Today’s guitar tracking haul for 50/90 is three lead parts and one rhythm part. For the leads I’m using my shiny new Les Paul Standard into a Ryra The Klone overdrive pedal (set with the gain really low) into a Wren and Cuff Super Russian (set with the gain anywhere from kinda lowish to melting the paint off the walls) into the Bassbreaker 15.
I’m really liking the sound. Really. I’m guessing once I listen back to all of this stuff months from now (assuming I ever listen back to all of this stuff) I’ll hate the way it sounds, but for now it feels pretty freakin’ good.
Sing
No weird signal problems, three more songs down, and one of them might suck slightly less than usual.
Good morning, everyone.

My Hands are Killing Me
Let’s review the task list for today…
Cut the front grass, including plugging a hole in the gas tank and running the weed wacker.
Cleaned up the current cellar water crap.
Put away six megatons of groceries.
Did two loads of laundry.
Started a new character in World of Warcraft and made it to level six and died a lot.
Broke the shit out of a fingernail while taking my guitar out of its case.
Started a new song, put rhythm guitars onto it and one other song, then put leads onto three songs.
Surprised myself by how tired and sore my hands got after playing the guitar for about an hour.
Finished the binge watch of Community (well, it will be done in three and a half minutes).
Started thinking about cooking dinner.
Stood up from my desk to walk into the kitchen to start making dinner.
I am pretty sure I’m forgetting something. I don’t mean that I am forgetting to put the lawn mower away, I know it’s still sitting outside waiting for me to put it back under the tarp, I just haven’t gotten to it yet. I mean I am forgetting to list something that I actually did today. Shit.
Oh well, I took the obligatory I’m-done-playing-guitar-so-here’s-a-pic pics.
Here you go.
Have I mentioned I hate wordpress.com’s block editor? I think I have. If I haven’t, I hate wordpress.com’s block editor.
More Singing? But How?
I ended up getting a shit ton of 50/90 work done today. I think this is a list of everything I did, not in chronological order:
Recorded rhythm guitars for three songs.
Wrote lyrics for two songs.
Recorded vocals for EIGHT (8!!) songs.
Recorded lead guitars for three songs.
I got a little unexpected home alone time tonight and you can bet your sweet ass I took it. I had four songs ready to sing and I did them all, and then wrote lyrics and sang a fifth. My throat is absolutely killing me right now. Hopefully I will recover quick. I need to go into the office tomorrow, not that that makes any difference at all on the speaking clearly front, but whatever.
I did what I said I was going to do in the car music post this morning. I used the mic cable from this morning with my usual vocal mic. No issues at all. Thank whatever deity looks after bad singers* that the cable was the problem and not the significantly more expensive (though by microphone standards still very cheap) mic. Sigh of relief, babie.
If you could pick a deity to be the god of bad singers, who would you pick? It can’t be someone living, and it can’t be someone who was mediocre themselves. It has to be someone who was great so that they can be an inspiration, or some shit. I think I would go with Elvis. Or maybe Ray Charles. Roy Orbison would be a good choice but we was probably a little too good. Yeah, I’m sticking with The King.
Decent Music Day
Did some vocals, did some leads, did some rhythm tracks, wrote some lyrics. Not bad. Not as much as I had hoped to do today, but not so bad.



Car Music Morning
I put vocals on three songs this morning. I think I am going to be able to do some more tomorrow. I had six ready to go when I started today, and hopefully I will add some more to the list at some point today.
No signal drop out issues. I changed the USB cable last time and changed the mic and the mic cable this time. Next time (tomorrow?) I will use the old mic with the new cable because I am really hoping the cable was the problem and not the mic because the mic is both expensive and the one I use with the band. I don’t want to replace it. It’s like an old friend, you know?
I normally use a Shure SM58 for vocals and today I used a Shure SM57. The mics are almost identical except the SM58 has a better pop filter on the end. That means any time I sang a syllable that contained a “p” sound it probably sounds something like nuc testing on bikini island (slight exaggeration). Oh well.
I am off work today so hopefully there will be time for a good chunk of guitar tracking. I want to mow the front lawn if the weather holds (it probably won’t because New England is now Atlantis) and I have to pick up my glasses at Lens Crafters (WOOHOO!) and I have to check on the water situation in the cellar (I’m a little afraid of that one) and I have a lot of laundry to do and I might want to sneak in a smidge of work at some point too.
Wow. This might turn into a really busy vacation day. When it comes to it I’ll probably just sit in my room eating cheese doodles and watching super hero TV shows and shit. Whatever.
Wait… I can’t do car music tomorrow because I will be working in the office. Fuck. So more car music on Saturday then. Yeah, that’s the ticket.
On a totally unrelated note, I fucking hate the wordpress.com block editor. Fucking hate it.
Okay, talk to you all later. Good day.
Song #2 of 50 (In Theory)
Check it out, another song!
This is all you get for tonight though, as I only had two ready to mix. Who knows when there will be more.
Two down, 48 to go.
Song #1 of 50 (potentially)
Hey kids, check it out! A song! You didn’t see that coming, did you?
One 50/90 song down, 49 to go! Yippee!





