Song Number 32

Here’s song number 32 out of (hopefully) 50!

I don’t like the guitar sound in the solo at the end. Everything else is okay. I guess the melody is kinda bad too. All three stanzas of the lyrics are haikus, so I guess I score points for nerdy poetry and cultural appropriation? Okay, I’ll shut up now.

Today in 50/90 Challenge News

Okay, let’s see what we did today. There’s a decent amount of stuff, I just didn’t keep the best track of it all.

I added two new songs. Numbers 47 and 48. The arrangements are all set, but I didn’t have time to add any guitar tracks.

The rest of the time today was spent writing lyrics and melodies. I believe I wrote lyrics for four songs and melodies for three (one of the four lyrics already had a melody written).

I now have four songs ready to mix, six ready to sing, five ready for lyrics, two ready for rhythm guitars, and two that don’t exist yet. That plus the 31 already mixed should bring me to 50 but I am too tired to do that much math so… yeah.

Hopefully doing car music on Saturday morning. Fingers crossed.

Healed

I don’t get it. I was in so much pain yesterday. I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t think straight. It was awful.

Today? It’s a little tender. A little sore. Not bad at all. I’m not even limping or anything. What the hell happened? Stupid foot. Stupid, stupid foot.

Anyway, 24 hours from now I expect my little quarantinie fun time to be over and history and a memory buried so deep I am not even sure it’s real. Covid-19 test at 8:09am. Freedom to roam the house without a mask approximately 15 minutes later. Kick ass, dude.

I have so much music to do in the next three weeks that I’m starting to freak out a little. Just warning you all that there might be a lot (I mean, a lot) of 50/90 music posts coming in the immediate future. Just so’s ya know. I mean, I just came up with terrible lyrics for song #40. I have three songs ready to sing. I can’t do car music until Saturday and I want to have 5-10 ready for vocal tracking by then. Yikes!

Okay, I need to fill up the cat’s food bowl, grab myself a caffeinated diet soda, and start my work day. The laundry is running already and the puddle formerly known as Lake Asshole has been cleaned up, including emptying the wet vac and the dehumidifier.

I think I’m good to go for now.

Wish my quarantinied ass luck.

18 Volts

I did some playing tonight, which seems to be the routine during my little quarantine adventure. Strangely, with 45 songs in progress I currently don’t have any songs waiting on guitar parts. All 45 songs have rhythm guitars complete, and the songs that don’t have leads yet also don’t have vocals yet, and I don’t like recording leads before vocals so… I currently am not waiting on any guitars.

That is so weird.

On a gear front, Prior to our little quarantine adventure I had not been using the pedal board I use with the band, so I have not been able to try the Wampler Plexi Drive Mini at 18 volts. I like to use the Plexi Mini for noisy, distorted, rawk sounds, and I like to use some form of a Klon style pedal for boosting cleanish sounds. I also like to run the Klonish (in the bedroom recording board it’s a Ryra The Klone pedal, and on the band board it’s a Klon KTR) first so that it pushes the holy hell out of the noisier pedal that follows it. Unfortunately, when I put the Plexi Mini after the Klon or the Klon Klone and then into a low (15 watt) wattage amp I end up with a sloppy, awful, over compressed, squashed mess. In the bedroom setup I am only able to run pedals at 9 volts. On the band board I have a couple of 18 volt options and I thought that running the Plexi Mini at 18 volts* would give me enough headroom to clean things up. It worked. Mostly. The Plexi Drive at 18 volts after the signal output avalanche that is the Klon sounded a million times better than at 9 volts, but it was still a little squishy. Hmmmm… will running into a higher wattage amp fix what’s left of the problem? I bet it might. Where is my Fender Deluxe Reverb when I need it?**


*There are not many pedals that will work at 18 volts. Most are designed to run on nine volts (as in a nine volt battery) and if you give them 18 volts the circuitry will fry. The Plexi Mini works at 18. My Malaise Forever Black Lives Matter can run at 18 volts. The two overdrive pedals I own by the racist frat boy prick in California that the Black Lives Matter is based on can run at 18 volts. That’s it. Any of the rest of the crap load of pedals I own or have owned would melt down (figuratively… and literally?) if I plugged it into an 18 volt power source.

**My Fender Deluxe Reverb has been at Mike the Bass Player’s house since February of 2020. It’s still there. Waiting for me.

A Bit of Gitter

I took two of my groupings of random riff ideas and worked them both into song forms, and then added rhythm guitars. Then I added leads to the only song I had that was ready for leads.

Now I am going to exercise for 11 minutes and then I am going to go into a coma due to exhaustion.

Bed Time Music

I really should have gone to bed about an hour ago. I have to work in the morning you know. It’s a school night, why am I staying up late?

Because I was mixing a song, that’s why. It’s done now so I can go to bed.

Sweet dreams, my readers and only friends*.


Nerd boy is referencing A Clockwork Orange again.

Two Therapy Sessions

I was able to sneak into the cellar and play the guitar twice today.

I got a lot done for 50/90, which was nice, but I reached the point on the second go-round where my hands just wouldn’t do it anymore. That’s actually not a bad thing. I really need to build up more stamina, but I’ll get there.

On a gear note, I have my little recording nook in the master bedroom that has my current recording pedal board and my little 15 watt Fender amp. My big use-with-the-band pedal board and my Vox 15 watt amp (and my 30 watt Fender amp) are all in the cellar because Covid was slowing down and I thought they would be traveling to Mike the Bass Player’s house soon… and of course that hasn’t happened because the universe has intervened. The upside is I could set all of that stuff up in the cellar to keep working on 50/90 while I’m locked out of my bedroom. I bring my new Les Paul and my MacBook Pro up and down with me, as there is no way in hell those puppies are staying down there in the humidity. I set everything up far away from the flood zone, but you may note from the previous pictures that none of the electrical stuff is actually on the floor. The pedal board is, but the pedals themselves are not. That’s for flood damage prevention reasons.

So that is what I am doing to keep 50/90 going this week.

I also wanted to start with the exercising again. I started a couple of weeks ago and then fell off the wagon. I wanted to start up again today, what with it being a Monday and the iPhone Activity app starting its week on Monday. Jen wanted to do the same thing and she totally kicked ass all day today. Me? I was at two minutes of exercise as of 7:00pm tonight. Looked like I was going to fail for the day. Well, screw that folks. I’m up to 17 minutes now with 3.5 hours left in the day. I’ll get to 30 minutes, you betcha.

Okay. I need to go get a bottle of water and do another few minutes of exercise.

Looking for the bright side of self isolation. It’s tough to find, but it might be out there. Probably not, but maybe I might be able to pretend.

I don’t like Being Quarantined

I sat at the desk in my step son’s room all night tonight. My wife was down the hall. A few times we masked up and had distanced visits in our own home. Yeah, this sucks.

Once I am at work on Tuesday you can expect lots of shit like this:

I am going to be working this weekend too, on top of all of the other stuff, so maybe you’ll get something before Tuesday. I don’t know.

I wrote a song for 50/90 tonight too, so that’s positive, right? Right? I strongly believe that if you sit alone in your car in some random parking lot and don’t interact with other living creatures then you are still within your quarantine. So maybe car music tomorrow. Or maybe the next day. Or maybe the day after that. I don’t know.

I miss Jen. She’s right down the friggin’ hall, yet I miss her. Boo.