Liquid Diet Day?

I’ve been up and about for almost four hours and I haven’t had anything to eat yet. My stomach is still pretty unhappy with me. It might be a little better than it was when I wrote the last post, but it’s still not good. Gas. Pain. Not nauseous at this point but probably not far off.

I haven’t eaten anything yet and I haven’t had my morning vitamins. I did chew up a couple of Gas X pills in the hopes that would help. It hasn’t. Not really at least. The only other time I took Gas X was during the first couple of weeks post-surgery and it eliminated all of my stomach discomfort almost instantly. I was hoping for more of that. Nope.

I am thinking that today is a liquid diet day. Back when we went from the stage one (liquid) diet to the stage two (puree) diet they told us if we have a bad day to just go back to stage one. Well, I am at stage… infinity? Whatever, and I am thinking of reverting back to stage one until my guts stop bitching. I have half a protein shake on a coaster on my desk next to me. I’ve had a few small sips. So far so good.

Wish your humble narrator luck.

DSCN2722

Another Bad Day in the Making?

Last night I managed to hit both of my food goals, despite all of the difficulties I mentioned in the previous post. Unfortunately it required me drinking a 32 ounce bottle of water starting at a little before 10:00pm. It went down without a problem, and I felt really good after it was done, but I did it in about an hour and a half and that is just too fast. 15 minutes later I ate some protein and that topped me over both goals.

It also had the side effect that I expected. I woke up today half an hour ago with a seriously gassy and upset stomach. I’m going to run for a while and re-watch episode three of Yellowjackets (buzz buzz buzz and all that) without having anything to eat or drink first. We’ll see how I feel about an hour from now. Hopefully all the trottin’ and joggin’ in place helps to clear things up rather than make it worse.

Yesterday’s last minute success may lead to today being another rough one, tiny-little-rewired-stomach-wise.

Wish me luck.

Bad Day All Around

I think today might be the most difficult day I’ve had since the gastric bypass surgery nearly seven months ago. Every time I eat or drink anything it’s upset my stomach. Not nausea per se, just feeling uncomfortably full. Actually, dinner has made me a little nauseous. I made it through 2.6 ounces of left over chicken before it set in. I think it’s starting to pass, but I am screwed as far as my food goals are concerned. I still need 15 grams of protein and a whopping 28 ounces of liquids before I sleep tonight. I have to pause an hour between eating and drinking though and it’s already quarter past eight. At least today’s weekly weigh in went well. I’ve got that going for me today

Other than that, today has just been the worst day.

I Am So Tired of This

Just found out that two staff members at the rehab facility my father is currently stuck in have tested positive for Covid-19.

I am so sick of this shit. Not just the Covid, but the whole situation. I just want my parents to be healthy again and I want them to go home. My mother never will, but my father could. Ugh. I just want them both to be better.

We have a call with the facility tomorrow. That was booked before the Covid scare. I don’t know if my father was exposed or not. If he was they will be testing him right now.

I just want this shit to end. I want our world back again.

My Stomach is Having a Weird Day

I was finished with breakfast by about 7:30am. I have felt uncomfortably full ever since. I haven’t even hit 20 ounces of liquid yet today but I just don’t feel like I can drink anything because my stomach has felt so full. I took my two calcium pills at just after noon and just that little bit of intake made me feel a little sick. Huh.

That was half an hour ago and I am starting to feel a smidge better, but it’s weird. Just weird.

On an unrelated note, the ant kingdom was slaughtered by an exterminator a few months ago. Dead ants galore. Today the final termination is happening. There is a contractor upstairs ripping up our bathroom. The walk in shower is gone. It will be replaced by a closet or some shelves or some shit. The toilet and the sink have been removed, temporarily, and the floor tiles are coming up as we speak. The tiles will be replaced by something that doesn’t need grout and the sink and the toilet will be put back. There should be some cleanup on the back wall too. No clue how long this is going to take, but I will miss our shower. I won’t miss the leak that caused the rot that ruined the wall and lead to the ant invasion though.

Back to the original point of this post… not sure what to do for lunch today. Not sure if I can handle food. I’ll probably just go the protein bar route again (that’s what I did for breakfast though so maybe that’s bad luck today?). We’ll see.

Week 30 Weigh In

So close. So close to having milestones in every category that my stats obsessed brain looks at. I mean, so close.

Hello and welcome to the week 30 weigh in. Wednesday is weigh in day and today is Wednesday. Are you ready?

I am down 3.6 pounds. That’s fantastic. I am very happy with this week’s results. The app our bluetooth scale works with didn’t capture my weight this time. I’m not sure what’s up with that. I had to add it to my iPhone’s Health app manually, like the old days and when I say old days I mean like three weeks ago. I did not move the 10’s column for my total weight, but I came ridiculously close. My weight this morning was exactly 260 pounds. Come on! 1/10th of a pound lower and I would have flipped that six to a five. Oh well. We’ll have an early weigh in this week as Sunday is the monthiversary, and hopefully (barring any catastrophes) I should be in the two-fifties by then. Fingers crossed.

Everything else hit a milestone. My BMI dropped below 32. It is 31.6. 1.7 points away from not being obese anymore, in the BMI sense. My weight loss since the surgery moved the 10’s column and reached 171.4 pounds. My weight loss since the first weigh in also flipped the 10’s column to hit 192 pounds on the nose. Two items of note here. One “bad” one good. First the “bad.” I used the quotes because it’s not actually bad at all, it’s just a sort of warning. When I was going through the pre-surgery process I was told I could expect to lose a certain percentage of my excess weight. They gave me a range between blah and blahblah. When I calculated it out it was between 130 and 170 pounds. Now that I have hit 170 pounds I feel like I am on borrowed weight-loss-time. That’s all. Not bad, just noteworthy. It might be time to slightly alter my expectations, even though I don’t really expect to suddenly stop losing weight, you know?

Now for the good note…….

ONE HUNDRED AND NINETY POUNDS, BABIE! LET’S FREAKIN’ GOOOOOOO!!!!

Okay, so the next weigh in is Sunday December 4th. The numbers should be small, Robert. Don’t freak out. Next Wednesday will also be low numbers so don’t freak out then either, Robert. All weight loss is positive for now. The goal is to get to a healthy weight and you still have quite a ways to go before you get there. Keep up the good work.

Two Stops Today

I had a doctors appointment today. Did you know that my primary care doctor moved to a new location? I didn’t. I was a couple of minutes late. Ooops.

DSCN2694

Everything went swimmingly. I was told to keep up the good work, so I will.

82/365
82/365

I got out of the appointment early enough to make two stops for Jen. One at a drug store, the other at a grocery store. When I got home it was still early enough for me to pack up all of my clothes that are now too big for me and bring them over to goodwill and donate them. Hopefully someone will find a good use for the old suit I included, as well as last year’s ugly Christmas sweater. I guess I have to get a new one of those soon too.

DSCN2697
DSCN2698

Unrelated

I have a doctors appointment this morning that is not related to my weight loss surgery. Is that even possible?

My primary care office called me a couple of months ago (I think) and reminded me that I haven’t had a standard check up in 600 years. Maybe it’s time, they suggested. Okay.

My exercise is done for the day, breakfast is done (protein bars again. I’m a little gun shy after a few bad meals this weekend), I’m all ready to go. Why do I feel nervous? Because I always feel nervous about doctors appointments. Oh well.

The Walking Dead is over. The episode was good. I wonder if a year from now will I still think it was good. It wrapped up the one outstanding storyline and then gave about half an hour of postscript that felt a little confusing. They did kill a bunch of zeds though, so that was cool.

Okay. Time to go. Wish me luck.

The New Normal

Well, we all saw this coming.

Three bites into our pre-Thanksgiving Thanksgiving dinner and my stomach rebelled. Pain, nausea, gas, the works.

It’s worth it but I was really hoping I’d be able to have thanksgiving with my family without having to focus all of my attention on not being sick in front of everyone.

Fuck.