Band practice is supposed to start in 43 minutes. As of this moment we’ve all chimed in that we’re good to go for today. Fingers emphatically crossed that nothing changes.
I did a line check with all of the gear I want to bring today. I am massively downsizing the pedals and massively upscaling the amp situation. Also… I’m going to play the SG. I don’t know why. I am just feeling like today should be an SG day.
Everything is working. The new reverb pedal sounds cool. Here’s hoping nothing falls apart over the next 41 minutes and we actually have a practice today. It’s going to be painful. I have no calluses on my left hand finger tips. I’ve only played for about five minutes and already I am hurting, big time.
Band practice is on for 10:00am tomorrow. Morning practice is weird, but it will work. Hopefully the bass player’s family will all be awake before all the noise starts (eek!).
I told the other guys that I put it on my Google Calendar so there’s no backing out now. We’ll see. Lucy still has about 26 hours to pull the football away from Charlie Brown (me).
I’m rewatching the three new episodes of Andor right now. I’m up to the third episode with that scene with Bix. It is fucking disturbing and really hard to watch. Star Wars for adults is a pretty accurate description of this show.
What else… I don’t know. One work day to survive before the weekend arrives. It’s going to be a long day, I fear. I haven’t taken any pictures of cats yet. I’m sure the opportunity will arise eventually.
I also haven’t looked at the news yet today. I’m always afraid to do so. I’m always in a borderline state of panic to learn about what fresh nazi hell was unleashed overnight. I’m so tired of living in “interesting times.” Fuck this. I want my country back. Failing that, I want my state to just leave and start over. 249 years was a good run, I guess.
What else… I don’t know. Here’s hoping for a nice easy work day followed by a nice and calm weekend… that includes my cousin’s husbands wake… fuck. The universe is just piling on. Hopefully there are brighter, less depressing, less fascist days ahead. Now, where did I put those two cats?
The Red Sox are playing a getaway day game against Seattle right now. They are losing 4-2 in the bottom of the eighth inning. Bummer.
I just found a bug on a script a former staff member of mine wrote on a Confluence document we use to track the minutes of our daily meetings. I am sad because I don’t know how to fix it. I know I can figure it out but I don’t have the time or the energy. Bummer.
The federal government of the united states is in the grip of fascists who are using the constitution as toilet paper after a particularly nasty shit. Bummer.
The Red Sox just scored. It is now 4-3. That is not a bummer.
Here is another obligatory cat photo. Also not a bummer.
I have 82 minutes left in the work day. 82 minutes between me and the drive home. That feels like a super long time. Bummer.
I just finished my water bottle. That’s good. I hit my water goal (64 ounces) for the day. I’m still thirsty though and the filtered water here at the office always tastes a little funny to me. I don’t like it. Bummer.
The Red Sox are out in the eighth. They still trail 4-3. Here’s hoping they hold the Mariners in the top of the ninth and come back in their last ups. That would be nice. We’re still losing though and that’s a bummer.
Up and at ’em. Back at it. Repetition and all that. Deja-Vu. As Iron Maiden once said, “feel like I’ve been here before.” Probably because I was here before. Yesterday, in fact. Today is another day in the office. Celebrate with a cat pic:
Roar.
I’m tired. I went to bed earlier than usual last night but it doesn’t seem to have been enough. Maybe it’s just mental fatigue induced by driving for an hour to get to work. Who knows. Maybe it’s just mental fatigue induced by the collapse of american society. What used to be our country sucks a little more with each passing day and maybe it’s just wearing me out. Could be.
We’ve reached the point in the week where I start looking longingly toward the weekend. I can’t do a band practice on Sunday so I threw out the idea of doing Saturday instead. It’s still up in the air. I want to do some sunrise/ocean photos too but the weather forecast calls for shitty with a chance of shitty on Saturday. Sunday looks okay. Will it be okay at sunrise? Too soon to speculate.
Shit. I feel like I need a new hobby. I don’t want a new hobby, I just feel like I need one. Man, simple things get confusing when you reach old age (see yesterday’s post for more. Yes, I know I have not reached old age yet) and your country flushes itself down the crapper. All I really want to do is curl up in a ball on the couch and wait for it all to finish crushing me. You know how it is, right?
Sunday is out for band practice because I have to go to a wake. My cousin’s husband passed suddenly last week. I think that might be part of the reason for the funk I’m in right now. I also have a medical procedure on the books for Tuesday and I think I have to start prepping for it a couple of days in advance. I won’t say what it is. It’s not a procedure really, it’s just a test. Let’s say it’s one of those tests that people in their 50’s need to have and it involves completely clearing out your digestive system. Nudge nudge, wink wink. Are you digging where I’m coming from? Are you picking up what I am putting down? Ouch town, population me, bro. Maybe that’s another source of funk-feeling. Not funk in a good sense. Not funk in a George Clinton sense. Funk in a… blahhhhh sense. You get it.
Okay. Time to get cracking on the work day. Two meetings on the books. Both require some prep work. Get to it, Red Head!
I stayed up too late last night and now I am tired. That’s how it works for all of us, but it seems to be a bigger issue for folks who are old like me. I am going to have a birthday in a couple of weeks and I’m going to be 54. Wait… really? How is that possible? I know in the grand scheme of things that 54 isn’t that bad, I mean it’s not 80 or anything, but damn… I was 27 a few days ago. Wasn’t I?
What was I writing about?
Oh yeah, I am tired. It seems somehow worse than that though as I didn’t have time to follow any news yesterday and today I got caught up on the collapse of civilization. So RFK wants to create a autism database or some shit? Hmmm… didn’t the nazis do that with mental illnesses? Yeah, something like that. No surprise that we’re resurrecting that particular evil, but there you go. That on top of prison time without due process and willfully collapsing the economy in order to scam a couple of bucks off the rubes. Yeah. Are we great again? Maybe I’ll open up a new Signal chat and ask about it.
Ugh. Here’s a cat:
If the cat didn’t temporarily straighten out your soul, maybe a song will help:
Today is Wednesday and Wednesday is an in-the-office-day. Welcome to Wednesday in the office. Here’s a cat:
Did you see the season premier(s) of Star Wars Andor last night? Three episodes. I watched them all before I conked out for the night. I only got about five hours of sleep because somehow I managed to get up when my alarm went off without hitting snooze 10 times. How did I do that?
My spoiler free review of Andor season two episodes one through three, which covers the year BBY4 (four years before the first Death Star battle from the original Star Wars movie [so… 1973? Haha!]):
I dug these three episodes so much that I cannot wait for the next three episodes that are coming out next Tuesday!
There you go. There’s my review. Let’s celebrate with another cat pic:
I took that picture last night while sitting up in bed watching Andor on my laptop. The cat is laying against my foot. Perv.
Okay. Time to publish this puppy and dig into that customer issue that I am covering while the assigned programmer is on vacation. Nose to the grindstone. Crack that whip (give the past the slip).
It is 8:57pm. In three minutes Disney+ is going to release the first three episodes of season two of Andor. I don’t know if I am going to be able to stay awake long enough to watch all three, but I am sure as hell going to try.
Three episodes tonight, three episodes, next Tuesday, three episodes the Tuesday after that, and then three episodes the Tuesday after that. We are effectively getting a new Star Wars movie every week for four weeks.
I am not one to put too much faith into reviews, but season two of Andor is currently at 98% on rottentomatoes.com. Yeah… it’s going to be good. Really good.
It’s now 9:00pm on Tuesday April 22, 2025. Those first three episodes should be out now. I’ll let you know how they go. No spoilers, of course.
I just want to have some lunch. I usually break at 1:00pm but I was added to a meeting at that time. I punted lunch to 2:00pm but when the 1:00 ended I was added to a 2:00. I tried to reschedule my 3:00pm but I needed to keep it in place.
Dude… I just want to go to lunch. Why can’t I go to lunch? It is 5:00pm now and still no lunch. At least I will be able to have dinner soon.
I took this picture yesterday. Not sure why I am posting it now, but I am… so there.
As mentioned in a post from nearly 24 hours ago, yesterday was a holiday in Massachusetts. Patriots Day. In my neighborhood, Tuesday is trash day. I got up early and got everything ready and opened the door to walk outside with a big trash bag and as the door was swinging in toward me, I remembered that whole holiday thing. The holiday trash pickup schedule punts our Tuesday to Wednesday. Aw, hell. I hate when I forget about that. I took the barrel out to the street anyway. Tomorrow’s an in-the-office day. Taking the barrel out now saves me about three minutes tomorrow morning. Yippee.
Now, onward to another super fascinating Tuesday. Yippee, again.