I spent about 45-50 minutes in the movie theater parking lot recording vocals for November tunes. I had four songs ready to do and I only got to two of them. That’s okay. There is still a lot of November left.
There were a lot of cars around and people out for walks (at least until it started raining). It wasn’t quite as private as I like and I was distracted. Oh well. Maybe more over the weekend.
I was going to save up all of the re-recordings I’ve been working on and share them all at once rather than piecemeal as I finish them, but screw it here’s the first new mix. It’s a tad faster than the original from July, and it’s got a key change at the end now.
I had a little window of time in between Jen’s scheduled meetings so I snuck in some guitar tracking for the November tunes. I put rhythm on song number five and leads on songs one and two.
I am still sticking to the plan to use my little Vox MV50 Clean amp for all of November, even though it’s sitting on top of a Fender Bassbreaker 15 which at it’s worst sounds about 10000000000 times better than the little Vox dude. Still, Nutubes… The MV50’s preamp section runs on a Nutube and Nutubes totally are not a gimmick. Right? Right? I mean there are only two (maybe three, but I’m pretty sure it’s down to two) factories on Earth that still make actual vacuum tubes and if the guitar community wants to continue having that glorious tube amp sound we have to prepare ourselves for the day that we can’t get the real thing anymore… and Nutubes are as close as we can get at the moment, assuming they are not a total gimmick that is just a façade in front of a regular plain old solid state amp. So many questions… so very many questions.
Anyway, the little MV50’s are at least cute to look at, and the Nutubes give off a warm glowing blue warming glow…
Also, playing anything gives me an excuse for lame, faux artsy guitar pics. Today we made use of the iPhone’s portrait mode. Like a telephone photography boss.
I spent about an hour and a half on car music this morning. I had three new songs and three redone old songs queued up and ready to sing. I did the three new songs and one of the oldies. I think I might have been able to get to one more but my bladder had other ideas. I made it home with a little time to spare. Ahhhh.
Judging by this photograph, my car has the dirtiest windows in the known universe.
Tomorrow is Veterans Day and I have the day off. How should I spend the day?
Car music in the morning is a must. I have three November songs ready and three re-recordings ready too. There is zero chance I’ll get to them all, but I should be able to make a dent at least.
There are guitar parts to record too. Jen is working so I’ll try to work around her meetings schedule, but I’ll get some stuff down, definitely.
What else? Should I spontaneously drive to Vermont and take the kids to lunch again? No, but I wish!
I’ll think of some more stuff too, but this makes a decent start.
I worked on some lyrics for three of the November songs tonight. I won’t do car music tomorrow, but whenever I do it I’ll have November stuff to work on.
I had my step son’s Air Pods Max that he loaned to me on when I started and there was weirdness. I had two guitar tracks. One was panned hard left so it only plays out of the left speaker. The other is panned hard right so it only comes out of the right speaker. When I had the Air Pods Max on I was getting stereo output, meaning I had music in both ears, but the right guitar wasn’t there. I switched to wired headphones without changing any of the tracks and the right guitar was there.
The guitar was played today. That’s two days in a row. Glorious.
Yesterday I worked on four songs for the November Music thing. Today I worked on two songs for the re-recording thing. I wasn’t very good, but I didn’t suck too much. That was nice.
Okay, time to go cook dinner for the love of my life and then maybe do something else. She’s working today and I did a little cleaning to go along with the guitar playing and there is some stuff in the works for the cellar and shhhh I can’t tell anyone yet but shhhhh stop talking about it you moron.
Walking Dead spin offs tonight. Hate watch Fear then actually watch World Beyond? Yeah, I might do that. Or I might not. I don’t know. I’m sure when the hate watch starts I’ll post a bitch-fest post or two. Ya’ll have that to look forward too.