Success, I Think

Go back in time two posts and look at the picture I shared of my Fender Bassbreaker 18/30 amplifier with something that appears to be mold covering the imitation tweed. I don’t know where that came from. I don’t know why it’s on that amplifier but not on either of the other two Bassbreaker products I own (the Bassbreaker15 watt amp and the 1×12 extension speaker cabinet).

It’s gross.

I found a post on reddit that suggested using white vinegar to clean off whatever that mold looking shit is. I guess mold growing on tweed amps is a thing? I’ll share a screen shot of the post here:

I went grocery shopping today and picked up a bottle of white vinegar. I just finished sponging off the amp and it looks like it worked. I am mostly pleased with the results. The only negative I can see at this point (assuming whatever that shit was doesn’t just grow back immediately) is that now my amp smells like vinegar… and so does my cellar… and so do I. Oh well.

It looks good so far though.

Jail

We are having work done in our kitchen today. Normally we keep the cats’ food and water in the kitchen but with the impending chaos I moved them into our bedroom.

While I was getting ready for work this morning, the two cats were hanging out in the bedroom with me. I took advantage of the situation to do something I am not proud of. When I left the room to go start work, I closed the door behind me and trapped the cats inside. Their food and water are in the room with them, and they can get to their litter box from there too.

So effectively… I have imprisoned them for the day. I am a mean and terrible cat owner. Shame on me.

Distract Me from Reverb.com

Okay… it’s a really good thing that the new episode of Daredevil came out on Disney+ about five minutes ago because I found myself on reverb.com tonight looking at tenor saxophones.

While they are nowhere near as expensive as electric guitars, they are on the pricey side and I do not have the money no way no how.

Stay away from reverb.com, Robert. Stay. Away.


Selmer Mark VII Tenor Saxophone… I played one when I was in high school and it’s still among the finest musical instruments I’ve ever been in the same room as. I really miss that high F# key.

Pissed Off Sequel Post

This post is a sequel to the pissy political post I put up yesterday. I feel like I am getting exponentially more upset over this topic thanks to social media. My bluesky feed has spent the last few days being bombed with posts discussing how the courts will save us or how the orange shit clown nazi fuck is extra awful for ignoring the courts.

Even the chief justice of the supreme court got into the discussion today in response to the nazi fuck saying basically that judges who rule against him should be impeached.

The chief justice of the same supreme court that ruled the sitting president is immune from prosecution for anything he does while acting as president which basically puts him legally above the law and within his rights to do any psychotic shit that he wishes, including laughing in the face of the courts when they rule against him felt justified to comment about how the courts and the executive branch interact.

Are you fucking kidding me, Roberts? You know, asshole, you had your chance to comment on this discussion not so long ago but instead you decided to let the fucking president become a fucking dictator. Fuck you, Roberts. Fuck you right in your mother fucking eyes.

I am shocked by how clueless so many americans are right now. I am extra shocked to see behavior like this by the man who is in charge of the ACTUAL GOVERNMENT BODY THAT MADE IT POSSIBLE.

Now now, donny, says the chief asshole of the supreme court of the nazi states of america, just because we made it legal for you to declare yourself dictator and do whatever the fuck you please doesn’t mean you should be a big old orange meanie to the poor wittle judges.

Fuck you, Roberts. Fuck you, you nazi fucking fuck.

Boston Holidays

March 17th is a big day for the city of Boston. As most people know, it’s St Patrick’s Day and Boston does love to get its Irish on for a day. For me personally, I am of Irish descent (with the red hair to show for it… for now). My father’s mother’s family came to the US from Ireland. My mother’s parents were from New Foundland (before it became part of Canada) but prior to that we believe the family was in Ireland as well. My father’s father’s family was from Nova Scotia (I think) and before that the family was from England. I guess no one is perfect.

While St Patrick’s Day is the big deal for most of us around here, people in Suffolk County also have another holiday today. Evacuation Day. George Washington placed the cannons stolen from Fort Ticonderoga onto Dorchester Heights, where they could threaten the English warships in the harbor, thus breaking the Siege of Boston. When I was a kid I was insanely jealous of the kids in Boston because they had the day off from school on March 17th and those of us in Middlesex County did not. They didn’t have to go to school on St Patrick’s Day and we did. What a rip off! There were people from the Merrimack Valley fighting with the Continental Army during the siege, why don’t we get the day off to honor them too?

It wasn’t until I was 21 or 22 years old and going to school at Northeast Broadcasting School in Boston that I got to have Evacuation Day off. Better late than never, I guess. As for today, happy St Patrick’s Day. Most of Boston drank themselves into the annual stupor over the weekend, so there isn’t a lot of actual celebration today. We used to have Corned Beef for dinner on St Patrick’s Day, but I think tonight we’re just going to have chicken. Maybe we’ll do something next weekend to celebrate. I am wearing a green shirt today though. Not because I chose to wear green today, but because a green shirt just happened to be on the top of my laundry pile. Call it the luck of the Irish.

LC Code

I am so fucking mad.

Our dishwasher had a leak. About two weeks ago. We payed a crap ton of money to get it fixed and it took over a week. I’ve run it two, maybe three times since. Last night we got the same leak error code that started the whole mess.

I am so incredibly pissed off.

Did I mention all of this started one day after the warranty expired? Yeah. Perfection.

Fucking shitty dishwasher. I want to rip it out of the wall and take an axe to it. With extreme prejudice.

Blogiversary

Apparently today was this WordPress.com account’s eighth birthday. Time flies.

Of course the blog itself dates back to 2006, but it has changed platforms a whole bunch of times. It’s only this latest incarnation that’s celebrating its birthday.