We went out tonight. It was terrifying and wonderful at the same time. That’s not what this post is about though.
I put rhythm guitar onto two songs and leads onto another. I now have two songs ready to mix. Sweet.
I was going to do these daily, but naw. One week into the project and here’s where I stand.
12 songs in progress.
No mixes yet.
One song has all of the tracking done and is ready to mix.
One has vocals and is ready for lead guitar.
Five have rhythm guitars and lyrics and melody written and are ready for vocals (car music in the morning, maybe?).
Five have their song format and the bass and drums finished and are ready for rhythm guitars.
Not bad for the first week. I don’t know how this pace compares to the other two times I finished 50 songs. Who knows.
And now for the obligatory guitar pics.
I have four songs ready for vocals. I should do car music tomorrow! I am working from home and not going to my parents until around dinner time. Tomorrow’s the perfect day!
Except for that whole tropical storm that’s supposed to hit us in the morning.
Yeah, I am not going to do car music in the middle of Elsa the Tropical Storm.
<prepare yourself for Robert your Narrator to make a Dad Joke that I am positive everyone on the Eastern coast of the United States of America has already made. Sorry… can’t resist this one>
Elsa just needs to let it go.
<GET IT??????>
I need mental help. Get me on Prozac, STAT! Is Prozac even still a thing?
So I was working on a little ditty in GarageBand just now and the cat jumped up on my desk and somehow manage, with one swipe of her paw on the trackpad, shuffle around two segments of the song and also paste a couple of new notes into the bass line.
Really, cat?
Two vocals, one melody/lyric, and one new song idea started.
Not too bad for a work day.
I made a works in progress playlist on hearthis.at. I know it won’t play from wordpress.com, but I’m posting it anyway because why the hell not. None of this matters anyway so why should I give a flying fuck at a rolling donut?
The naming scheme is year-project-counter-device the file originated on. Look at me being all assembly line efficient and shit. Yippee.
There should be car music tomorrow. We will see how I feel in the morning.
How’d we do today? One new song under way for a total of six. All have rhythm guitars and three have lyrics. Not bad for day two.
I usually don’t stress over melodies. These shitty songs are lucky they get any melody at all. Tonight though I found myself trashing something. I was working over a riff that has some really weird syncopation and I was playing a pretty simple melody. Shortly after wrapping up the phrase it started feeling familiar. I eventually placed it… it was a song from this year’s RPM Challenge.
Stupid melody. Stupid, stupid melody.
Game on!
Today was a big opening day for this year’s 50/90 idiocy. At midnight I kicked off the first song idea. Hooray! I don’t know if I’ve ever stayed up until midnight for one of these before but now I have.
As bed time on day one approaches a quick look at the Trello board shows me five songs underway. All have drums and bass and the full song form. Two have rhythm guitars. Crazy! That’s a lot to get done on the first day. It totally helps when day one is a Sunday and you are trapped at your parents’ house and can’t leave and can’t do pretty much anything else.
Day two tomorrow will hopefully give us the rhythm guitar parts for the other three songs and maybe a new song idea or two. And maybe if time allows… a lyric or two? That’s just crazy talk.
50 songs in 90 days.
Game on!
Okay, I’ve got the guitar rig for the summer in place. Welcome back to my sweet little 15 watt Fender Bassbreaker.


Dusting faux tweed is hard.
Just add a shiny new Les Paul and we are on our way.
Addendum: My iPhone autocorrected “on our” to “In-N-Out”. WTF, I ask you. W. T. F?
50/90 starts next weekend so I probably shouldn’t be using up new song ideas now. Oh well.
Written on Saturday, recorded on Saturday and Sunday, and mixed before work on Monday. Not a bad little weekend tune.
I think I already wrote a bit about this. The first song I worked on this month was based on a guitar riff I came up with back in May. On the day I recorded the vocals I started work on another song and, accidentally and totally without realizing it, used almost exactly the same guitar riff. It was slower by quite a bit, but for the most part it was the same thing.
Oops.
Now the question is, which song is better? Here’s Part One:
Now here is Part Two:
I am leaning toward part two, but that might just be because I’ve been listening to it all day.
I did vocals for two songs first thing this morning, and now I put leads on those songs too. Tracking is done for both. I’m trying to make myself love the Blues Breaker clone pedal. I used it as a boost yesterday and as a light drive pushing a huge Klon Klone boost today. I like it. It’s just not… I don’t know. It’s not love. It makes me sad, though why? It’s just a friggin’ guitar pedal, right? Stupid red head.