I spent about 90 minutes playing. I pained my way through two songs worth of rhythm tracks and did some non-recorded noodling just for shits and giggles.



I spent about 90 minutes playing. I pained my way through two songs worth of rhythm tracks and did some non-recorded noodling just for shits and giggles.



I didn’t play any guitar today, but I did work on MIDI tracks and arrangement stuff for a few songs. Just getting them ready for guitars tomorrow. I mean it. Really. I promise.
I even dug a couple of pedals out of the cellar to put into the signal path. I’m serious. I’m going to play some tomorrow. Really.
I just finished the stupid national solo album thing. It wasn’t very good. There might be one, maybe two songs worth revisiting in the future. The rest… eh.
There is also the never ending, on-going re-recording project. I just checked my Trello notes. I haven’t touched any of that since November 13th. I was running late on the solo album thing so I focused on that.
Until this morning!
I took a song from this past summer’s batch. Redid the MIDI drums and bass tracks entirely, cut out a section that sounded overly repetitive (which is hilarious as all of my shit is uber repetitive), and cranked up the tempo.
The re-recording thingie project thingie has been officially brought back to life.
I’m sorry, music lovers. There is more crappy music on the way, and by extension there are more crappy blog posts about crappy music on the way too. WOOHOO!
My 2021 National Solo Album Month submission is complete. It comes in at about 33 minutes. I sorted the songs into three piles. Good. Less than good. Awful. The good list didn’t quite run long enough to submit so I had to pull one song from the less than good pile. Oh well.
Here’s the last song I finished. I saved it for last because I kinda like it, even if the recording isn’t quite up to snuff.
Here’s a playlist of the whole shebang, which I post knowing that it won’t work. If you are just itching to torture yourself you can also go here.
Look up the word pointless in the dictionary and there will be a picture of this “song”.
Three mixes down, one to go and only two hours and 13 minutes left in November. I think I can make it.
There is only one day left in November. How much music do I still have left to do?
The November music project will have nine songs. Five are finished. I mixed three songs tonight and my ears are fried. I’m not sure they recovered from yesterday’s guitar tracking bonanza.
That means I have to mix four songs tomorrow. I’m sure I’ll be able to pull it off, but hopefully I’ll be able to get to one before work. Four songs in one night leads to mixes that are even worse than the very crappy norm.
After the mixes are done I need to come up with a running order and then I need to fill out the website’s submission form. I think it’s just an email.
I’ll get it all squared away with at least a few minutes to spare, you’ll see.
Okay, let’s say that hypothetically the song in the last post was the A side of a single. Would this song make a good B side? Also, what if we flipped them and made this the A side.
I am trying really hard not to nitpick my vocals, melodies, and lyrics tonight. It’s really difficult, let me tells ya.
And the award for goofiest song in this year’s National Solo Album Month album is…
I haven’t decided if it’s good or not. I do kinda like it, but that doesn’t mean it’s good. If this were a real album, I would put this on the first single, though I don’t know if it would be the A side or the B side. It doesn’t feel like a hit to me, but nothing I’ve ever done has ever felt like a hit. Of course that’s because nothing I’ve ever done is even worthy of a second listen. Whatever, this is fun.
Assuming I don’t need to add an additional song, I think I finished all of the guitars and all of the vocals for November today. Oh my goodness, my finger tips are on fire. Burning hell fire finger tips. Good heavens.
I think I can stop using the Vox MV50 amp now. I should be able to put it back into the living room with the electric piano. It’s going to be there all setup when the kids come home for Christmas break.
They came over today and decorated the tree and packed up their stuff for school and left. I’m sad for me and excited for them. As usual, right? I just love them. You know how it is.
I started at noon and got interrupted at about 1:45. Guitars, babie. Guitars. I did rhythm and leads on three songs. Well… one song still needs one little eight bar solo, but I’ll get to that after the christmas tree is done. The kids should be here any minute. After that I’ve got two more songs ready for leads and one song that needs rhythm and leads. After that… I don’t know. Maybe add up the total time for the eight songs currently part of the project and if it hits 30 minutes declare myself done, otherwise try to add another one. I still have two days after today, but there is also a lot of mixing to do.
I’m sure I’ll snap a guitar pic or two when I get back to it later tonight. It is GibSunday after all. As for now, the plan is to decorate, maybe watch a TV show for a bit, maybe eat some dinner, and then back to it! I think the Walking Dead spin offs are going to have to wait until tomorrow (it is Sunday, after all).
Now, where did I put that owl ornament?