Bad Day for Boston Sports

It’s been a crummy day for Boston sports.  First, the Bruins blew a 2-0 lead over the Penguins last night, all in the late minutes of the third period, and lost 3-2.

Today, the Patriots lose Wes Welker to the Denver Broncos.

And to top it off, I now learn that Terry Francona, ex Red Sox manager, has made a Harlem Shake video with the Cleveland Indians.

Will the pain never end?

Bruins vs Capitals

I came home from picking up the love of my life at work, I turned on the tube and dialed in NESN, and saw Brad Marchand score a short handed penalty shot goal.  The Bruins are leading the Capitals early in the first period.

If the Bruins beat the Capitals tonight it will do nothing to erase the memory of the first round defeat at Washington’s hands last night.  Nothing.  Not a single thing.

It will, however, feel really, really good.

Go Bruins!

The Bruins Beat the Lightning

I just realized something…

If I can’t embed video…

I can’t post NHL highlights…

Oh no!

Does the embed tag work?

Does just posting the link work the way it does with youtube videos?
http://video.nhl.com/videocenter/console?hlg=20122013,2,303

No!  Neither way worked!

I want to share the three Bruins goals because they were all worthy of highlight films (the Tampa Bay goals were too, but who cares)… But I don’t think I can!

The horror!

youtube has highlights galor from last night’s Penguins vs Canadiens game, but that was a nationally televised game.  Oh, and thanks for beating the Habs, Pens.  We appreciate it.

There is a huge game tonight for the Bruins as they face the Canadiens.  There’s not to much at stake, just first place in the Northeast division and the Eastern Conference.  That’s all.

Go Bruins!

Screw you, WordPress.com!

Bruins 2 – Senators 1

The Bruins beat the Senators tonight 2-1 in overtime. The first Bruins goal was the cheapest goal I’d seen in ages. The Ottawa goal was even cheaper. Then in OT, Bergeron trickled the puck onto, but not over, the goal line. Ottawa’s goalie took off his blocker, reached for the puck with his bare hand, and instead of grabbing it, he knocked it an inch or two over the line before scooping it up. Bruins win.

Three goals.
Three impossibly cheap goals.
You’d think it was a full moon or something. Is it a full moon? No, it’s not a full moon. The game just made tonight feel like one.

Go Bruins!

RPM Day 22

Nothing new to report.  My last music post last night is still the most recent information.  I haven’t had time to do anything since then, and I probably won’t have any time for the rest of today either.  There are non-music (aka, real life) things going on that need to be taken care of.  Monday is still the sing-till-I-puke day.

What else is going on.  Well, the Bruins continued their ass kicking with another win last night.  The Red Sox had their annual start of spring training games against Boston College and Northeastern University last night.  John Lackey is starting the first real game of the spring this weekend.  Be afraid… be very afraid.

We’re supposed to get another big snow storm this weekend.  I have decided that it’s going to skip us.  Yeah, it’s just going to go around Methuen and give us a miss.  Right.  Right?

Anyway… I’ll try to get some guitar playing done this weekend, but I might be off the project until Monday.  I hope to have both RPM and FAWM finished, but there might not be enough time for both.  If I finish 10 songs then I can declare RPM complete.  I have to finish all 14 for FAWM.  We’ll see.

The Boston Bruins

I haven’t posted about hockey in a while…  here’s a random thought.

The NHL will never earn my forgiveness for this season’s lock out.  They will never earn my forgiveness for the other two lock outs either.

There is, however, exactly one way in which the NHL can calm me down.  Exactly one way that they can get me to step down from my furious little soap box (that no one ever notices) and get me to blend back into the crowd.

How can they do that?  Simple.  The Boston Bruins have to consistently kick the bloody hell out of every other team in the league.  If that happens, I’ll relax and be distracted from my hatred and raving madness.

So far, so good.

The Bruins have played the fewest games in the Eastern Conference (thank you, blizzard) and have the second most points.  They have played 10 games and earned 17 points.  Do the math, kids.  They are three points away from perfection.  They have only lost twice, and once was in overtime.  That is a team that is doing a pretty decent job of taking my mind off my anger.

Let’s note that Chicago has a better winning percentage right now, but frankly the Blackhawks have not had to play the Bruins, and I would definitely bet on my home town team in a head to head match up.  The Hawks are awesome right now, but they ain’t no Bruins.

The Big surprise for me has been the goaltending.  Khudobin is going to be a question mark all year just for his lack of experience.  Rask is different.  Tuukka has been the Bruins #1 goalie in the past and he’s been amazing at times, but he’s also blown a playoff series after taking a 3-0 lead.  I really don’t think anything short of a Tim Thomas-esque Stanley Cup championship performance is ever going to make me have faith in Tuukka after that Philly debacle.  Having said that, Rask is playing like he’s possessed.  Given the abortion of a shortened season (see?  I’m still pissed after all) could he stay this hot right through the end?  It’s doubtful, but I don’t think it’s impossible.

Go Bruins!

So Long Timmy

There are reports on Twitter that the Bruins have traded Tim Thomas to the Islanders for a conditional draft pick.

Hey Tim, thanks for that Stanley Cup and all, and I’m sure eventually we will remember you as a Boston Sports Hero, but for now…

Don’t let the door hit you on the ass on the way out.

Hehe, the Islanders.  Hehe.

041

2008-04-05 Bruins vs Sabers 034

2008-04-05 Bruins vs Sabers 153

047

099

RPM Challenge Day 7

Nothing much new to report.  Last night I mentioned finishing one of the unfinished song project thingies and coming up with a possible guitar/vocal only song.  That was about it for yesterday.

Beyond that, I did something very unusual for me.  This morning before work I wrote and recorded lyrics and melodies for two verses of one of the songs I posted yesterday.  Normally I take  a day off from work and crank out all of the horrible lyrics and horribler vocals in one day.  Telecommuting gives me an hour and a half or so worth of home-alone-before-work time on Thursdays.  I only worked for about 20 minutes, but it’s a start.

Still thinking positive.

Oh, and the Bruins beat the Canadiens last night 2-1.  Seguin tied it a few seconds into the third period just as I was posting last night, and then shortly after the B’s took the lead for good.  I do so love beating the Canadiens.

1-0 After Two

I spent a few minutes recording tonight. I finished one of the two unfinished song idea projects including the rhythm guitar parts. I also snuck in a new song project that I think will end up being a guitar and voice only kinda song.

I should be sitting here right now trying to come up with another idea or two, but the Bruins are playing the Canadiens. We are down 1-0 after two periods. They are about to drop the puck on the third. How can I not listen to the rest of the game?

Game on!
Go Bruins!

Tyler Seguin scores to tie the game 14 seconds into the third period! No way I’m working on music now!