I Forgot About This

I took this picture after work yesterday. I meant to post it last night but I forgot.

What is it about this sink? She’s only started doing this over the last week or so. This is a new, adorable, cute as hell, behavior.

Unrelated topic, who the hell is this turkey?

Four Days in a Row

It has happened four days in a row. I break for lunch at around 1:00 pm. Shortly after my break ends I get hit with a headache. Some days have been worse than others (Tuesday was the worst) but every day this week it has happened.

Usually when something like this comes up, my glasses are the culprit. Tomorrow I am going to zoom my browser in a little. If I make the text bigger it should be easier on my eyes and that will probably solve the problem. We’ll see.

After gastric bypass surgery my first instinct is to blame anything going weird health-wise on my stomach. I think in this case I can rule that out though. It does happen shortly after I eat (which could be a red flag) but it’s only lunch. It doesn’t happen any other time. I often read the news during lunch break, so I’m guessing that is stressing my eyes out a bit. Pretty sure that’s going to be the root cause. We’ll see.

Headaches suck. You heard it here first.

Winter Never Ends

Yesterday was April 9, 2025. It was 7:30am or so and I was packing up to leave for work. I asked Siri how the weather was and she told me it was 26 degrees out. 26… in the second week of April. I looked out the window at the car and said out loud, “at least there’s no ice on the car.”

Fast forward to this morning, April 10, 2025. I don’t have to drive to work today but when I got up at a little after 6:00am I did happen to look out the window at the driveway. Sure enough, this time there was ice on the car. It was 29 degrees out though so it’s practically a heatwave.

Winter never ends around these parts. It starts around the last week of August and it hangs on for dear life until sometime in late May or early June.

Southern California is calling me. Hell, at this point maybe it’s Mexico calling me. Should I start learning Spanish? You know, just in case?

I Hate When it Hits Home

I saw a headline this morning that pissed me off and scared the crap out of me, but I haven’t been able to verify it yet (and I almost don’t want to even try, in the spirit of burying my head in the sand). It said that trump mentioned including pharmaceuticals in his tariff bullshit.

That’s scary shit. Where is my step son’s insulin manufactured? Where is the company that manufactures it based? Is the already insultingly high price of insulin about to go up? Is it manufactured in china? Will the price go up 104%?

Like I said, I have not verified this report yet. I tried looking online for about four seconds and then stopped. Think of it as a no-news-is-good-news kinda thing, you know?

Further thoughts on being in the spirit of hiding ones head in the sand, I feel like I have less and less to say on the interwebs these days. I feel like the state of the world is just making me draw more and more inward. The collapse of american democracy is getting me in touch with my inner introvert. That’s my natural state, I think. Despite being a ridiculous online over-sharer over the last 25+ years or so, the real me is someone who clams up and doesn’t speak unless spoken to. I feel that I am losing the fight to not be that way all the time. Social media used to be my personal revolution (this is getting way too dramatic), but facebook and twitter and instagram and threads are all dead to me now. Flickr is a social media site at its core, but I don’t use it in that sense very much. I still use bluesky, but with each passing day I find I have less and less to say. I’ve been using Flashes as an instagram alternative, but that app is literally just bluesky with a filter to only show posts with images.

This isn’t a censorship thing. I’m not afraid to speak out. trump is a fucking fascist who needs to rot in prison for the rest of his miserable, evil life. See? I am not afraid to say what needs to be said. I just don’t feel much of an urge to speak up anymore. It’s not even that… it’s more like I will speak out when I have something to say… I just don’t often feel like I have anything to say. I don’t know. I will say it’s one of the reasons I am considering canning this blog and all of the social media things I still use. If my country doesn’t give a fuck about me anymore, why would I waste the effort acting like I give a fuck about it in return? I do, and I will do what needs to be done… I think I am just tired.

Jen and I have been watching a show that is set in Australia. Maybe I’m just jealous of people who live in countries that aren’t actively eating themselves. I don’t know.

Boy… this is a depressing post, eh? Sorry. There will be cat photos at some point today. I promise.

PS: I am turning comments off. I’m not interested in comments on this one. I’m not sorry.

Missed It

There was an accident on route 128 South. It made me late for work. Not super late, just a couple of minutes. A car hit the barrier on the left side of the road. It took quite a long time to get around.

I tried to take a picture as I drove passed. I blindly pointed my phone at the accident and did not take my eyes off the road. This is what I got.

Masterpiece. Pure stable genius.

Photo a Day

My photo a day pic for day 220/365……

220/365

Yesterday after lunch I had a bit of a headache. Not bad, but noticeable. Today after lunch I also had a headache. It was bad enough that I almost put in for sick time for the afternoon. I didn’t and I have been okay, but if it had been a little bit worse I would have gone out sick and gone to bed.

Two days in a row. Here’s hoping the trend does not continue.

Not Again

I posted something yesterday about how there was a little bit of snow during my morning commute and how snow in April sucks the big one.

I have been in meetings all morning today. Back to back to back, one after the other. Woah, that’s a lot of meetings. At a few minutes after noon I was listening in to the third meeting in the string and something caught my eye outside of the window. I was on a video conference so I didn’t want to stare at the goings on outside so I took the briefest of glances.

It was snowing like a freakin’ blizzard. Oh, fer cryin’ out loud. What the hell, mother nature?

It didn’t last long. I took a second side-eye glance about 20 minutes later and there was still some snow falling but it was much lighter. 15 minutes after that the meeting ended and the snow had slowed down to a few random flakes.

All in all this past winter was not that bad. It was very cold, and February had a ton of snow. Outside of that, it could have been much worse. Why then are we having to deal with snow falling on both the seventh and eighth of April. It is most definitely not winter any longer. At least it isn’t sticking but still… come on. Enough is enough. I want my spring to look and feel like spring.

Winter, go home. Your mother nature is calling you. Jerk.

New Episodes

Hulu released three new episodes of The Handmaid’s Tale. I’m a few minutes into episode two. The best description of the first few seasons that I heard was “misery porn.” That is accurate. Painfully, crushingly accurate. The current season is not expected to tow that line. Instead it’s looking like it might be “revenge porn.” Given the state of the real world… here’s hoping.

The Handmaid’s Tale this morning, Daredevil tonight, Doctor Who on Saturday, and The Last of Us on Sunday. Hey television world, why not spread out the riches a little. Share that wealth with the rest of the calendar.

Something is up with my Flickr account. Yesterday my hit count was about 10 times what I usually see. This morning before 7:00am it’s already more than yesterday. I think some bot somewhere is crawling me. It might be time for a new backup. Just in case. I hope the bots enjoy all of the cat pictures.

Okay, I have to post this now. I can’t keep typing up brain droppings while hanging on every word of one of the best television shows Earth has ever produced. Seriously. A million years from now some alien species is going to find our remains and turn our planet into an archeological site and watch this show and think… those beings were seriously fucked up but I cannot stop watching.