Three Year Anniversary Weigh In

Happy anniversary! Three years ago today I went under the knife and had my insides rewired. Gastric Bypass. Weight loss surgery. Most of my stomach was tied off and a big chunk of my intestine was skipped. It was a brutal experience that required all sorts of lifestyle and diet changes and had all sorts of icky side effects but it was oh so worth it. Health care wise it is the single best move I’ve ever made. Overall it doesn’t quite measure up to marrying Jen and being a step father, but it tops just about everything else.

I weighed myself this morning and was pleasantly surprised to see I was down a little since the last time I stepped on a scale. That’s nice, huh? My first appointment at the weight loss clinic was January 19, 2022 and I weighed 452 pounds. Yup. The day of the surgery I did not weigh myself. The most recent number I had was from April 29, 2022 when I weighed 431.4 pounds. On the one year anniversary, May 4, 2023, I weighed 204.8 pounds. Suck it, morbid obesity! The lowest weight I ever recorded was the magical day of September 22, 2023 when I weighed in at 198.4 pounds. Sub-200! Glorious! We were told to expect our post-surgery weight to bottom out at some crazy number and then start climbing up again to a more reasonable, sustainable value. That’s been the case for the last year and a half or so. At my two year anniversary I was 211.2. The last time I weighed myself was the three year anniversary of the first check in, January 19, 2025, and I was 222.6. This morning, the first thing I did when I got out of bed was step on the scale. I was expecting something between 220 and 230 and I got 218.6! Down four pounds since January and back in the teens, babie! Currently I am down 212.8 since the surgery and 233.4 since the start of the process.

I still have problems with food getting stuck on the way into my new digestive system but not nearly as often as before. I can have trouble if I don’t chew enough, or eat too fast, or eat too much in one bite, but these days I can go faster and more per bite than I could have two years ago. Eating is easier now than it was before. When it goes bad it still goes bad. If a bite of food can’t get into my stomach (it’s actually technically called a pouch now) then it has to go somewhere. Either it just hangs out and blocks the path so that nothing else can get in (until it breaks down enough to enter) or it comes back up to say hello again. That’s life these days, but it doesn’t happen nearly as much as it used to.

In closing, here’s my selfie a day video from the first year. Enjoy watching me melt away.

Rain

I just had some really good thunderstorm luck. I went grocery shopping even though the sky looked like it was going to fall. I made it into the store, through all of my shopping, and back out to the car before it rained. I loaded up the car, put the cart away, and got in the car and at the exact moment I closed the door the first rain drop hit my windshield. Perfect timing.

As I drove home, the rain was so heavy I really couldn’t see. It sucked. I made it home in one piece though and I sat in the driveway for a few minutes waiting for the rain to calm down. Magically, it stopped all together! Nice! I needed three trips from the car to the kitchen and back and it wasn’t until I was on the third trip that the rain started again. I was only in it for a couple of seconds. A small price to pay given the risks involved. I’ll take it.

Suck it, thunderstorm. Of course it’s down pouring again now, but that’s okay. I’m in for the rest of the day.

Earlier today we drove to Boston for a few minutes. Enjoy the obligatory stuck-in-traffic-getting-on-to-Storrow-Drive-looking-at-the-Zakim-bridge pics.

245/365

And in closing, two cat pics:

Purple and Yellow and Gross

I mentioned a few times last week that I had a medical thing last Tuesday. It involved anesthesia through an IV. Today I noticed that the area around the IV point is now a giant yellow bruise. Like… how did I not see that yesterday or the day before or whenever? Did the bruise form four days after the fact? Not likely.

I mentioned in a post yesterday that I stubbed my toe on the end of the bed while I was getting ready for work. It hurt like a mutha. It continued to hurt a little for the entire rest of the day and my foot felt a little swollen. It wasn’t bad enough to have a negative effect on me or anything like that, it was just there. Last night when I went to bed I took off my shoes and socks and found that my forth toe on my left foot is a dark purple, almost black, bruise of epic awful ugliness. It is definitely not broken but it is swollen and ugly and gross.

So those are two things I have going for me on this gloomy Saturday morning.

The sun was out this morning for the first time on a Saturday in something like 35 years. Did my camera and I make it outside to take advantage? Nope. I way over slept. Is it too late? The thunderstorms are rolling in so yes, it is too late. I am enjoying a nice breeze as Miss Robin Sparkles the cat and I are sitting next to an open window in the bedroom. That’s something at least, right?

I Feel Dirty

I mentioned in the last post (at least I think I did) that one of our cars has its check engine light on. Earlier today I went to the website for the dealership that sold us the car. I wanted to see if I could schedule an appointment to have that idiot light looked at. I found the link to their service department site and went to it, but when I got there…….

My only option for scheduling required me to… oh it’s too awful to even type it out… okay… here goes… it required me to talk to an AI chatbot. Disgusting!

I feel so dirty. It asked me for my name and I ignored it. I don’t want some random AI bot to know my name. To hell with that crap! It was just gross. Why would any company that respects its customers want to subject them to such bullshit? I would have preferred being asked to call them and then getting stuck in voicemail hell for half an hour. That would have been so much less demeaning.

At one point it even tried to tell me its name, as if it were pretending to be an actual human being. I feel so dirty! It was just icky and gross and dehumanizing. And the worst part? This was hours ago and it told me it was going to have the service department call me to book the actual appointment and I still don’t have a fucking appointment! Insert the grossed out scream of frustration here.

Fucking AI. Screw you, Skynet wannabe, poorly written, bug riddled code.

Pain

I overslept a little this morning. Not enough to cause any problems but enough to throw off my head a little. Just a little. I found myself rushing while getting dressed and that’s when it happened…….

I stubbed my toe on the end of the bed. Holy crap! I really jammed that little sucker good. Two hours later it still hurts. Did I break a toe or two? Dumb ass. Happy Friday, you self harming moron.

What’s going on this weekend? Probably no band practice. Our drummer is going to be out of the country. Lucky stiff. If I were him I probably wouldn’t come back. Yes I would… I’m all talk sometimes, you all know that. Crap. What was I talking about? Oh yeah, plans for the weekend. I have to get one of the cars looked at. We have an idiot light on that won’t turn off. There might be a window of clear skies at sunrise tomorrow. Here’s hoping I can get up early and go out and shoot some film before the usual weekend rain and gloom rolls in. There’s a new Marvel movie (I won’t see it until it hits Disney+ but it’s out there so who knows). There will be a new Doctor Who, The Last of Us, and Walking Dead (the Dead City edition’s 2nd season opener). What else, what else… probably lots of pictures of cats. The soles of my sneakers are starting to fall apart so I need to get myself a new pair. We’re about a month away from a Disney World trip and I need to get any footwear thoroughly broken in before then.

Anything else this weekend? Probably. I don’t know. Here’s a cat for you to enjoy while I try to think of what else might be going on…

244/365

That Was a Day

I’m down to the last few minutes of the work day on this screwy Thursday. I was out the last two days and figured I’d spend the first hour or so today sifting through the hundreds of emails in my inbox. It didn’t take long for that plan to go down the crapper. One customer with a critical issue lead to three of us from my group spending the day on the phone along with a bunch of other co-workers. We hashed it out and fixed it but woah was that a grind.

I actually feel pretty good about the state of the universe from a work perspective. From every other perspective? Yeah, right.

I am too tired and fried to think of anything else to write. I’m hoping for an easy commute tonight but yeah, right. What else? I don’t know. It’s May 1st. Happy May. This month will see my birthday, mother’s day, my step son’s college graduation, my step daughter’s birthday, Memorial Day, and our wedding anniversary. That’s what I call busy. May is a good month. Here’s hoping we get spectacular weather and not dreary, rainy gloom like we’ve been getting the last few months. The sun only comes out during the work week now. Weekends are gross, weather wise. I need that trend to stop and do a full 180.

Okay. It is now 5:30pm and I am clear to punch out and go home. Wish me luck on my commute.

Busiest Day Ever

I can’t even tell you how busy this work day has been. I haven’t had a minute over the last four hours where I haven’t been on a conference call. It’s nuts. I have to go pee, and I need to eat lunch, and neither is an option right now and won’t be for a while.

Here’s a cat. I hope it helps.

No Spoilers

It’s frustrating. I watched last night’s three episodes of Star Wars Andor and I want to write a 100,000 word essay on how incredible the show is right now but I don’t want someone who hasn’t watch the new episodes yet to accidentally come to this page and read what I wrote and get spoiled.

I want to talk about what’s happening on Ghorman. I want to share what I was thinking about Bix’s future and how wrong I was (for now at least). I want to rave about the Krennic/Mon scene and how fantastic it was. I want to praise Disney for the Vel/Cinta scene and Vel’s rant at the end. I want to mention how weirdly relieved I was when Syril went home to Coruscant. I want to admit that I had to fight back the urge to literally cheer out loud when Bix and Cassian completed their mission at the end of episode six.

I suppose I could go to reddit and find their Andor sub and write it all out there, but there has been so much shit posted on the other Star Wars shows from people who hated the show based on things that had nothing to do with the show (looking at you, assholes who spewed bile at Acolyte). I just don’t want to be any place that would draw people like that. I am sure I could find other forums somewhere but I don’t know.

I am listening to a two hour podcast episode recapping episodes four, five, and six (Children of the Watch). Once that’s finished (about 25 minutes from now) I might just start watching the three episodes again. I am that invested in this show right now. I just don’t want it to end.