18 Days and Counting

Magically, the streak of consecutive days where the guitar was played for at least a couple of minutes has reached 18. I put rhythm guitar tracks onto one of the final two songs from May. Only one more song to go. Last night I wrote lyrics for two of the June songs, and after I finished playing the gitter I wrote lyrics for a third. There will be car music tomorrow, though I am not sure how that schedule will work out.

I used the direct out from the Bassbreaker 15 amplifier. It calls it cabinet emulation, not simulation, but whatever. It sounds… okay. Not great. The little nutube Vox amp probably sounds better. I’ll stick with this for a while and see if it grows on me.

Pics:

DSC_1470
296/365
DSC_1471
DSC_1472
Grogu used The Force to turn the amp around. After weight loss surgery, I am no longer strong enough to lift a tube amp.
DSC_1473

As for tomorrow. Here’s the plan. I am going to get up at the ass crack of dawn and do the third Couch to 5k training. I expect I will die during that, but once it’s over I will go inside and eat breakfast and recover. Then after breakfast is done, and the one hour pause after eating before I can drink water again is also done, I’ll jump in the car, drive to a secluded place, and crank out some vocal tracks.

Hopefully. We’ll see if I can stick to that plan or not. Wish me luck.

Yup, He Played Guitar Today

I had two song ideas left over from May that hadn’t been worked into a song form yet. I took care of both of them while watching an episode of The X Files and eating some breakfast. When that was done I put guitar tracks on both songs. That leaves me with two songs still needing rhythm guitar tracks. Both are leftover from May.

That means I have 11 songs ready for lyrics now, and two more that are almost ready for lyrics. Yikes! I need to get cracking on that. Lots of car music in my near future, eh? There are still four songs waiting to be mixed as well. Got to get moving! It’s June 22nd. There are only eight days left in June! If I do a faux 50/90 this year I might include July 1-3 in June too. 50/90 doesn’t start until July 4th. We’ll see how far I get.

Two pictures because I am getting tired of this and getting lazy.

DSC_1467
295/365
295/365

Okay, Robert. Let’s go get ready for work.

The Morning So Far

I did not forget to put out the trash. I am significantly less dumb than last week. Of course last week I waited until Wednesday and that was a stupid mistake. This week I had to wait until Wednesday because Monday was a holiday. Okay. Next week will be back to normal.

I did my 30 minute work out, yogging in place. The couch to 5k comes back tomorrow. I watched episode one of Secret Invasion. I am hooked so far. I will probably watch it again before episode two comes out. I did play guitar for about five minutes. It counts. I didn’t plug in, I just played an A minor scale a bunch of times. I didn’t record anything. I just don’t have time.

Up next is my pre-commute morning routine. I need to pack my bag and get moving. Today is going to suck, but I will handle it. Bring it on, bro.

294/365
294/365

Visitor

Please excuse the horribly dirty cellar window.

I had a visitor come to my window this morning. He took a peak inside but had walked a little way away before I could get the camera out. I called for him to come back, but he ignored me the way all of the animal kingdom ignores me.

That’s fine, jerk. See if I put more bird seed out, right? Oh who am I kidding. I am going to put out more bird seed. I’m such a push over.

DSC_1463
Come back, you turkey!

Morning Routine

The morning routine today was a little upended. Usually I have some water with my morning vitamins, then yog in the cellar and have some more water. I stop drinking after about 15 minutes of exercise so that my 15 minute pause between drinking and eating will be up when I finish exercising and I can just have breakfast right away. for the last couple of weeks I’ve been playing guitar after I finish breakfast.

Today I had some water while walking and running outside, but I didn’t have my pills until I got back inside. I took a shower during my 15 minute pause and then had breakfast while watching Spaced. When breakfast was done I played guitar and then punched into work immediately after I finished.

I put rhythm guitars onto a May song, and lead guitars onto a June song. The streak is at 13 days and I am 90% sure it ends today. Tomorrow is an in the office day and I really don’t expect to be able to get any playing in before I have to start getting ready. The whole morning routine goes right down the crapper on commuting days. We’ll see what happens. I pulled it off last week, but with a new Marvel show kicking off tomorrow, Secret Invasion, I don’t know how things will go. Fingers crossed, right?

Pictures. This was focused on the pick up.

DSC_1456

This was focused on the poker chip/pick up switch.

DSC_1457

This was focused on the truss rod cover (aka the word “Standard”).

DSC_1458

This was focused on the treble knob.

DSC_1459

This was focused on BABY YODA, BABIE!

This was focused on the left food switch, I think. I don’t quite remember.

DSC_1461
DSC_1455

Pulled it Off

Crazy morning. I normally set my alarm for 5:00am on weekdays and then hit snooze a few times but still get out of bed well before 6:00. Today I didn’t get up until almost 7:00. I assumed my whole morning routine was going to get flushed.

Nope. I got everything I wanted to get done, done.

I fed and watered the cats. I emptied the dishwasher and put the dirty dishes in and cleaned them. I did a load of laundry. I watched Dead City (but not Fear the Walking Dead, thankfully). I ran in place for 32 minutes and closed my exercise ring. I ate breakfast. I drank 16 ounces of water and took my morning vitamins. I took a shower and got dressed and punched in to work with 10 minutes to spare.

I also extended the guitar playing streak to 12 days. I put lead guitars onto one of the songs I put vocals on yesterday. It wasn’t good, but it was a lot better than the last few leads I recorded. Nice.

I also used guitar as an excuse to take today’s photo a day challenge picture. I got everything I wanted to get to this morning done. Good job, Roberto.

292/365
292/365
DSC_1450
DSC_1453
DSC_1454
Nutube

Will the guitar playing streak end tomorrow? It probably depends on the weather, I think. If the weather is okay then I might go to the movie theater parking lot shortly after the sun comes up and start the couch to 5k thing. If I do that, I probably won’t have time for guitar before work. I could always try to get it in after work, but that is a lot harder to do.

I just checked the hourly forecast. It’s going to be chilly, but the 6:00am hour is currently looking like it will be rain free. We might be doing this thing, kids. We just might be doing it.