Rain

The kids are at a concert with their father and their step mother. Jen is working. I’m sitting in the living room typing this and looking at a sleeping cat or two.

I want to shoot film at sunrise but I can’t because New England in April means rain on the weekends. Not just the weekends, of course, it just seems that way. Every Thursday or Friday I start looking forward to the weekend and I check the weather forecast and it’s always the same. It is always rain. Rain and gloom. Even the Red Sox have been in a rain delay for the last hour and a half or so.

I wish I could have made it into the city to join in on the Hands Off demonstrations today, but the kids were here and I would rather be with the kids than almost anything so I happily stayed home. One of these days there will be a certain ridiculously tall old person with red hair in one of those Boston throngs, I promise.

Until then, here’s a photo of Lily that I took a few minutes before she jumped up onto the ottoman and curled herself into a ball and fell asleep.

217/365

I think Jen and I are going to do dinner via DoorDash tonight. It’s a special day for us so we need to do something nice to celebrate. 18 years ago today, on April 5, 2007, we went on our first date. As special days go, today is a big one. I love her so much, and it all kicked off 18 years ago today. Our relationship is old enough to vote, assuming the u.s. will still have elections… you know… nazis in charge and all. Oh shit, I just brought politics into my happy first-date-aversary message. Fuck me. Sorry about that.

Hands Off

Folks are showing up in Boston today. I’m not. At least not physically. Spiritually, I am there.

Photo shows the Hands Off! event in Boston Commons. This from more than an hour ago, the crowd is still arriving.OUR Hands Off! event in Santa Barbara is today at 1 p.m. at De La Guerra Plaza. Let's show Boston they have nothing on us!

Indivisible Santa Barbara (@indivisiblesb.bsky.social) 2025-04-05T16:56:20.859Z

They’re really rockin’ in Boston…Hands off USA.

Alan Rosenblatt (@drdigipol.bsky.social) 2025-04-05T16:14:02.843Z

I wish I had made this sign! From Boston #handsoff march

Claudia Calhoon (@claudiacalhoon.bsky.social) 2025-04-05T17:10:35.705Z

Hands Off BOSTON This is what Democracy looks like!

(@ediba.bsky.social) 2025-04-05T17:06:14.605Z

I Hate That I Feel This Way

Aw hell… why can’t I just be a hockey fan and enjoy it?

Alex Ovechkin tied Wayne Gretzky’s record for career goals last night by scoring his 893rd and 894th goals. Gretzky broke the previous record of 801, held by Gordie Howe, back in 1994.

I want to just be a fan and enjoy the little bit of hockey history, but I can’t. Politics has ruined this for me. Ovechkin is from Russia and in the past has been a vocal supporter of putin. Gretzky stated publicly that he is a trump supporter. Fuck them both. Fuck them both right in their ears. Two fucking fascists.

Ovechkin could break the record as early as tomorrow and I don’t give a flying fuck at a rolling donut. To hell with him and to hell with Gretzky. Also, just to show that I am not just being a sore loser Bruins fan… Bobby Orr is a trump supporter too. The greatest Bruin ever… fuck him too. They can all just rot.

Mild

The weather was kinda nice today. It was warm enough for me to open the windows in my home office. The cats approved.


Change of subject. Here is my unsolicited political thought of the day.

I grew up under the threat of nuclear war. I am very familiar with existential dread. What I did not expect is that the source of the worst existential dread would be some fucking moron who can't do math…… ……but here we are.

Rob (@robj1971.bsky.social) 2025-04-04T16:06:08.166Z

All Quiet… For Now

Despite the weirdness of my previous post, the potentially odd omen of the cat in the sink has not foretold of anything weird happening today… so far, at least.

It’s been a quiet day so far. I’m just getting off of my lunch break so there is still plenty of time for things to go south. I mean, the president placed tariffs on penguins yesterday so… yeah. Anything is possible at any time.

The Red Sox have won two in a row and their home opener (against the Cardinals) is about to start. The Bruins have now lost 10 in a row (one of them in overtime, the rest in regulation). I don’t know what to think. I will focus on the positive trend for the Sox and listen to today’s game while I work. They are 3-4 on the season. It’s too early to worry about things like the American League East standings, but they are currently tied for last place (with Baltimore), two games back of the first place Blue Jays. At least Geddy Lee will be happy.

The kids are coming home tonight. We thought they were coming home last night but there was some miscommunication. Last night’s loss is tonight’s gain. They will be here tonight, go to their father’s sometime tomorrow, and then I think come back here afterward. Then Sunday they will go back to Vermont. I am very happy we’ll get to see them. Very happy.

Okay, it’s 2:00pm now. Time to get back to work. Talk to you all later. Until then, remember that donald trump is a nazi who can’t do math. Loser.

Okay Then, I Guess

Yeah… well… Okay. 7:20something on a Friday morning. This feels like a sign that today is going to be a weird one.

I guess we should all just duck and cover and roll with whatever the universe spews at us. Good luck, folks.

Are We Great Again Yet?

The nazi orange shit clown announced a slew of new tariffs yesterday. Pretty much every country in the world except for Russia (who owns him, clearly) got a new batch of hefty tariffs because the nazi orange shit clown still thinks it is 1930 and he never heard of that little thing we call The Great Depression. Fucking moron.

I just saw a graphic showing that at one point today the Dow Jones was down 1,225 points, the NASDAQ was down 827.19 points, and the S&P 500 was down 202.60 points.

So my question for the nazi orange shit clown moron is…

Are we great again yet?

Putz.