AI Images in WordPress.com?

Earlier today I inserted an image into a post using the wordpress.com image tag thing. “/img”. 99% of the time I just paste in a link to an image on Flickr and the post editor embeds the photo through magic or something. The other 1% of the time I pull the images off of my phone. This morning though I used the tag and saw something new. There’s an option to have the built in wordpress.com AI thing generate an image for you.

I figured I’d try it out today. I asked it to generate an image of a Jedi Knight petting a kitten while a blues band plays in the background. Success, I guess?

Let’s try another one. This time I’ll add the instructions before I generate the image… how about this:

Generate an image of a hockey player using his stick to fight off a zombie attack at a fast food restaurant

Let us see the results………

Huh… okay… I guess it decided on its own that one of the zombies should also be a hockey player. Everyone appears to be skating without actually wearing skates, though why they would have to skate at a fast food joint is unknown. Is the guy in the back living or just a newly turned zombie. Also, what’s the deal with the teeth on the zombie on the left? Does the AI think that zombies have different teeth than the humans they used to be? That does not compute.

Okay, so there’s a nice little feature that I will only ever use ironically. Okay. I guess.

It is Going to Be a Long Day

It is about 7:30am. My work day starts at 9:00am. My vacation kicks off 8.5 hours later at 5:30pm.

It is going to be a long day. A really… really… long… day.

After that? I have to pack. I have to make a stash of protein bars to get me through the first couple of days in Florida. I have to figure out the camera situation… charge up the Z5 and put on the 40mm lens, fill up a bag with rolls of film, load a roll into Dad’s Pentax K1000. I’ve decided that Dad’s camera is coming with me this time. Normally I would take my Nikon FG-20, but this time I think I want to take the camera that hurled me down the film rabbit hole a few years ago. Yeah. I am weird.

Anyway. Yesterday I bitched about how the Bruins suck now. Last night they beat Ottawa and jumped three places in the standings. Not only are they back in a playoff spot, but they above the wild card spots and back into third in the division. What a world, huh? We’ll see how long this lasts. The standings are pretty tight these days.

Okay. Time to get the ball rolling on this Friday. Vacation is less than 10 hours away.

Last Night’s Snow

We got some snow last night. The anticipation was enough to screw over my band practice, but in the end it wasn’t too bad. I don’t know what the official total was but it looked to be about 4-5 inches of really light snow.

When I woke up this morning I looked outside and thought to myself that I would clear off the driveway and the walkway and the fire hydrant after work. I did my morning exercise and ate breakfast and then thought I would maybe go out and shovel a path from the road to the door and leave the rest for after work.

It’s really cold out today so I dressed in a couple of layers and put on my snow boots like a good boy. I went out, fully planning to do just enough to let the mail man get to the mail box. Next thing I know, it was all done. All of the shoveling. The entire driveway, both cars, the path around the house to the back door, and the fire hydrant. All done. I did not start the cars so they still have a layer of ice. Other than that, it’s all done.

I suppose there is still a chance that the plows could come back and widen things, and that would leave a small snowbank at the end of the driveway and I’d have to deal with that. We’ll see how that goes.

I’m really pleased with myself for getting this done so early. It would have been on my mind all day otherwise. Like a dark cloud hanging over my head.

And yes, this post is just an example of me whistling past the graveyard. Expect a bunch of these kinds of posts today.