On Hold

I am trying to renew my passport before I have to fly to Florida this summer. I’ve been on hold with their help line for 10 minutes. I have a meeting 70 minutes from now. Do you think I will still be on hold when the meeting starts?

Something tells me I will be. Government efficiency and all that crap, right?

I was just about to publish this when my call was forwarded to a voicemail and hung up. Oh good. I guess I can start that on-hold clock again.

Yippee.

Winter Never Ends

Yesterday was April 9, 2025. It was 7:30am or so and I was packing up to leave for work. I asked Siri how the weather was and she told me it was 26 degrees out. 26… in the second week of April. I looked out the window at the car and said out loud, “at least there’s no ice on the car.”

Fast forward to this morning, April 10, 2025. I don’t have to drive to work today but when I got up at a little after 6:00am I did happen to look out the window at the driveway. Sure enough, this time there was ice on the car. It was 29 degrees out though so it’s practically a heatwave.

Winter never ends around these parts. It starts around the last week of August and it hangs on for dear life until sometime in late May or early June.

Southern California is calling me. Hell, at this point maybe it’s Mexico calling me. Should I start learning Spanish? You know, just in case?

Not Again

I posted something yesterday about how there was a little bit of snow during my morning commute and how snow in April sucks the big one.

I have been in meetings all morning today. Back to back to back, one after the other. Woah, that’s a lot of meetings. At a few minutes after noon I was listening in to the third meeting in the string and something caught my eye outside of the window. I was on a video conference so I didn’t want to stare at the goings on outside so I took the briefest of glances.

It was snowing like a freakin’ blizzard. Oh, fer cryin’ out loud. What the hell, mother nature?

It didn’t last long. I took a second side-eye glance about 20 minutes later and there was still some snow falling but it was much lighter. 15 minutes after that the meeting ended and the snow had slowed down to a few random flakes.

All in all this past winter was not that bad. It was very cold, and February had a ton of snow. Outside of that, it could have been much worse. Why then are we having to deal with snow falling on both the seventh and eighth of April. It is most definitely not winter any longer. At least it isn’t sticking but still… come on. Enough is enough. I want my spring to look and feel like spring.

Winter, go home. Your mother nature is calling you. Jerk.

Do the Right Thing?

I don’t want to go into details but here’s the deal.

I have something to do tomorrow and I don’t want to do it. Originally, the plan was for my wife and I to do it together. It involves driving for an hour and a half, doing something that may not take a lot of time, and then driving home for an hour and a half. As of now though, my beloved bride needs to work tomorrow so if this happens it will be me doing it alone.

So there are two options. One, I do the right thing and I go and do this task. Two, I don’t do it and I stay home and run errands for my wife and just be here with her, which is absolutely what I want to do.

Frustrated sigh… If I do this then it will help someone out and if I believed in karma (which I absolutely do not) then it would be a good thing for everyone, karmically speaking (is karmically a word?). I just selfishly do not want to do it because it is going to take up the entire afternoon and most of the evening and I really just want to spend time with my wife.

I am probably going to do it. Like I said, it’s the right thing. The other person involved has already done a similar thing for me. It’s only right and proper for me to do the same in return. I just don’t want to spend three hours in the car round trip.

Ugh… I didn’t expect this post to feel so negative. I really just thought it would be an unemotional stating of the two sides of the coin and instead I feel like this reads like I am pissed off and defeated by the situation. It’s not that big a deal. For me, it’s not that big a deal. For the other folks involved it is, but me being involved is a microscopic piece of it. Ugh… I don’t know what I am saying anymore. I’ll shut up now.

On the upside, the Boston Bruins appear to be putting an end to their 10 game losing streak by beating the shit out of the Whalers tonight. Too bad it’s WAY too late to have any meaning. Ugh. The Red Sox got rained out today so they are going to play a double header tomorrow. Maybe things will go well and we’ll get to spank St Louis twice in one Sunday. That’d be nice.

Okay Then, I Guess

Yeah… well… Okay. 7:20something on a Friday morning. This feels like a sign that today is going to be a weird one.

I guess we should all just duck and cover and roll with whatever the universe spews at us. Good luck, folks.

Hand Basket

My current audiobook is making me feel like an immature child and it is giving me the giggles.

I am listening to Recursion by Blake Crouch. I’m about 2/3 of the way through and I am really digging it. I keep thinking I know where it’s going and then it curves off to someplace totally unexpected. That’s not what this post is about though.

This post is about how I am a nine year old goofball. One of the characters is named Helena. Every time one of the two readers says the character’s name I insert the words hand basket immediately after it.

Helena (hand basket) said hello.

Helena (hand basket) did something.

Every time I do it I feel like I am going to giggle. What a goof. Sometimes I think that I am going to stop it and I do… briefly. I stop inserting hand basket but instead I insert the word bucket.

Helena (bucket) walked down the hall.

Helena (bucket) opened the door.

Yeah, I am a child. A goofy, lame, immature child.

Close Call

That was close! My wife sent me a text with some ideas for dinner plans and I almost accidentally added a bunch of russian spies and classified military secrets to the thread. Woah, bullet dodged there.

Rob (@robj1971.bsky.social) 2025-03-25T21:26:24.292Z