My Forgotten Camera

I’ve been blathering on and on about the two film cameras I recently acquired, and the digital DSLR they have re-inspired me to obsess over, but there is another camera that I have ignored through all of this.

I bought a little Nikon Coolpix S7000 back in 2015 (I think) in order to have something tiny to sneak into a couple of Rush concerts.

The last couple of times I used it the images came out bad. They were washed out and overexposed. I didn’t know why. Now, after a month or two of watching how-to-shoot in manual mode tutorials on the YouTube it occurred to me that I might want to take a look at the settings and see if anything jumps out at me.

Yup, the White Balance setting was set to always expect daylight, that’s probably why only things shot in daylight looked good. Huh. I’m charging her up right now. Let’s see if that solved the issue, shall we?

In parting, here’s a bunch of S7000 pics from the pre-pandemic, pre-“why is my white balance set like that” days.…

Swankiest Car Ever

Two years ago a neighbor down the street had a really swanky looking wedding with lots of people in big cars and limos and stuff.

Today they are doing it again. This time they don’t have a limo. They went even swankier. They have a Rolls.

DSCN0902

Rush

Rush was otherworldly tonight. I thought the show in Boston was excellent. Tonight blew Boston away. The downside being the audience. I’ve seen three Rush shows at Madison Square Garden, and all three included a boring crowd. The other two included a number of obnoxious people too. That didn’t happen this time. Just the usual everyone sitting down after the first song. Wussies.

More Rush Pics

Just a few more pics from the Rush show last night. Epic, my friends. Utterly Epic.

They played four songs that I had never seen them do in person, one of which I had never heard them do on recording either. This is from that song, but no spoilers here. I had to take this because, is that a Paul Reed Smith 12-string???
DSCN0133

I had read that during the break they took after the last tour Geddy Lee added a collecting obsession to his existing wine and baseball memorabilia collecting obsession. The new one being bass guitars. We saw a lot of new and interesting instruments last night. This of course is not one of them. I’m pretty sure the Green Fender Jazz made an appearance last tour. Oh well.
DSCN0109

Ever since the late 80’s, Neil Peart has been playing with two drum kits. One, the great big sucker he always has in front of him, and the other a smaller mostly electric kit that would spin around to his front from time to time. Over the years the two kits sort of blended together into one 360 degree monster kit. This tour? There were two kits… just not at the same time. This is the first of the two, which he used during the first set.
DSCN0117

This was the second kit. A replica of his old 1970’s kit, which he called “Chromey.” Note the tubular bells in the back. Ever since seeing the Exit Stage Left video from 1981 I have been wanting to see Neil stand up and play some damn tubular bells. Unfortunately, that was replaced by his MIDI marimba thingie before I managed to see my first show back in 1987. Last night though… dream fulfilled! Tubular Freakin’ Bells!
DSCN0179

On the second song of the first set, Alex Lifeson played a Rickenbacker guitar. Later on, Geddy Lee played a Gibson Bass. It was like the 1970’s just flipped itself upside down and turned itself over backward. It was just so weird.
DSCN0140

Is that one of those weird new Gibson ES-Les Pauls? A semi-hollow version of the ultimate solid body guitar. Not sure I get the point of that.
DSCN0152

Geddy with a Rickenbacker. Back in the 80’s that was all I really wanted in this world. Just to have Geddy Lee stop playing those little Steinberger things, or that weird Wal thing. Just play a Rickenbacker.
DSCN0172

Again, this is more like it. Alex with his Gibson ES-355. And all was right with the world.
DSCN0205

Next week we see them again in New York. I can’t freakin’ wait!

Pics from Yesterday

I took a half day off from work yesterday so that I could get into town for the Rush show early. I took a half day off from work today so that I could sleep late… although I didn’t sleep late. Dummy.

Anyway, before going to the garden I went to Harvard Square. I wanted to have lunch at the REAL Border Cafe on Church Street, as opposed to the imposter in Burlington. I also wanted to see if any of my old go-to used record stores were there. They weren’t. That is sad.

Here’s a couple of views from the roof of the parking garage on JFK street.
DSCN0052

I don’t think I ever noticed the Prudential building in the distance from up there before.
DSCN0053

As a Bruins fan, this is obligatory any time I visit the TD Garden.

“Behind the net to Sanderson, ORR!! BOBBY ORR!!”
DSCN0055

While we were waiting in line to get into the Garden, this dude on the other side of Causeway street was snapping pictures of everyone.
DSCN0057

Again, as a Bruins fan this is obligatory. 2011 is starting to feel like the long, long distant past.
Untitled