You all think I’m kidding, but Patches really does love watching Boston Bruins hockey.
Tag: Bruins
Important Reading Material
Tell All
I have to hurry up and finish Derek Sanderson’s book.
Terry Francona and Dan “Big Bird” Shaughnessy have written a book giving lots of behind the scenes dirt on the Boston Red Sox during Francona’s tenure as manager. This is just the sort of thing that a psychotic Sox fan like me needs to read. Likewise it’s the kind of thing that non obsessed sports fans would look at and think, who gives a rats ass.
Sanderson’s book has been fun. By fun I mean fun in the way that hearing reformed alcoholics telling stories of drunken debauchery from their drinking days is fun. In other words, the stories are often really funny, but the subtext is kind of sad. Reading about him driving down the walkway in the middle of Comm Ave in Boston in an attempt to make it to Logan Airport on time, and then, despite being completely blitzed, getting a police escort into the airport, is one seriously funny story, but knowing what it was costing him is sort of painful. One thing the book is doing is making me want to read the soon to be released Bobby Orr autobiography. Sanderson gives the impression that the ’70 and ’72 Cup winning teams were more or less the result of Bobby Orr’s will alone. Bobby wasn’t the captain, but his word was law. He was King both on and off the ice.
The other thing that trying to rush through the rest of the book is doing is making my eyes tired. I’m basically seeing double as I try to type this. I need a nap.
Kitty Selfie
Matinée Hockey
Lets look back over the last few holidays…
Veterans Day. I worked.
Thanksgiving, the day after Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Holiday bliss, sans work.
New Years Day. I worked.
Martin Luther King Day. I worked.
That’s three out of the last six. Today had one upside that the other two did not… A Bruins matinée. The Bruins beat the Jets in a shootout today. I got to listen to the whole thing on the radio. Hockey is finally back. Even though the stupid loser point and the douchey shootout still exist.
Go Bruins.
The Lockout is Officially Over
Both sides signed an agreement yesterday that officially ends the lockout. The union ratified the deal after a 36 hour internet vote. 11 players failed to vote, and 12 voted no. Lets hope that those 23 players all play for Montreal so that I can hate them even more.
Training camps start today. The season starts on Saturday. The Bruins will open against the Rangers at home. 26 of the 30 teams will play on Saturday. How would you like to be one of the four teams that has the wait last an extra day?
I’ll probably watch some of the game, and I’ll feel like a dirty hypocrite doing it. I’m resolved not to spend any money though. They don’t get a dime off of me.
Go (broke) Bruins!
Drop the Puck
I have such mixed feelings about the end of the NHL lockout. I love hockey so much. I bleed black and gold. I am a Boston Bruins fanatic. I hang on every shift, every play, every pass, every check, every shot, every save, every goal. Damn it, I love this friggin game!
But they hurt me again. The hurt me eight years ago when they cancelled a whole season, yet this time hurts me even more. I guess it’s knowing that I am partly to blame this time. I came back last time and this year I paid for my lack of vision.
I believe in my heart that three lockouts under the current commissioner proves that the league is fundamentally broken and must be allowed to fail. Then a new league, one that cares about its customers and does not take them for granted or use them as bargaining chips, can rise from the ashes of the old.
But damn it if I don’t love my Bruins and damn me for wanting to see them play this year.









