Something Weird

Want to hear something weird?

I haven’t posted anything today.

Isn’t that weird?

The kids have had a recent fascination with Disney Jr. Why? I have no idea. Last night I was finally able to wrench the TV remote away from them so that I could watch the Bruins and flip over to the Red Sox between periods.

Yeah. Both teams lost.

That’s probably why I have nothing to say today. Boston sports heartache.

Busy

I’m already tired.

It has begun.  That time of year when we go from being busy to being off the wall crazy busy.  Instead of just having to get the kids to and from piano and karate, we now have to get them to and from piano, karate, baseball, and softball, and unlike piano and karate they do not play baseball and softball together.  Tomorrow, they both have a game starting 30 minutes apart.  Monday, they both have games starting at the same time.  It’s madness!  It’s also fun.  Expect many updates on the status of baseball and softball games.  Who’s winning, who’s playing which positions in the field, who’s getting hits.  All that fun stuff.

Still, I’m tired.  I think allergies might be involved.  My step son is missing his second consecutive day of school with a fever.  Obviously that’s not allergy related, but I wonder if maybe he has a little allergy action adding to the misery.  We’re all tired and stuffy.  If that’s the price one pays for not freezing their ass off when they go out of the house, then it’s worth it.  I just wish I could breath and sleep a little better.

Let’s not forget that we’re less than a week away from more of this:
Untitled

Even though we are only a week removed from this:
Untitled

The Bruins play game two of their first round series with the Leafs tomorrow.  They spanked the Leafs hard in game one.  Let us hope that continues.

The Red Sox… kinda rule.  Who knew that all they needed to do to erase the horror of last season was trade their most expensive players and fire  schmucko the clown.  They have the most wins and the highest winning percentage in all of the majors.  Please please please please please let this not be a fluke.  Last year was so painful, I can’t take a collapse this year.  I just can’t.  World Series of Bust, babie!  (says the guy who was hoping for nothing more than a .500 season)

Marathon Monday

Happy Boston Marathon day. Also known as Patriots Day. Also known (for this year at least) as my father’s birthday. Also known as the day the Red Sox game starts at 11:00am.

The Red Sox just won their game on a Mike Napoli walk off RBI double in the bottom of the ninth, following an Andrew Baily blown save in the top of the ninth.

The Red Sox are a whole lot more interesting this year than they were last year.

The Bruins have been boring for much of the season, and the last couple of games have been especially painful. I can live with boring and winning, but boring and losing to Carolina is something completely unacceptable. Fortunately, Patrice Bergeron might be coming back tonight. It will be nice to see our best player on the ice again.

I am roughly 4.5 work days away from a week long vacation. All things revolve around that fact.

I said the other day that the first few episodes of Game of Thrones hadn’t really gripped me. I’ve watched a couple more, and it has gotten better. Things have actually happened, believe it or not. I’m not on the bandwagon yet, but I’ll keep watching at least. It ain’t no Walking Dead.

On the watching television shows via iTunes front, I have decided to start pre-gaming for Star Wars Episode VII by picking up the first season of The Clone Wars television show. I’d seen a few episodes here and there. Nothing special, other than the landmark fact that there are lightsabers involved… even if they are cartoon lightsabers.

That’s it for me for now. Back to today’s haul of urgent tasks at work.

Happy Birthday, Dad!

Almost Missed a Day

It’s 9:53pm and I haven’t posted yet!

We went to my step daughter’s chorus concert tonight.  It was great except for the feedback.  Apparently the chorus director wasn’t listening because no attempt was ever made to fix it.

The Red Sox won their home opener today.  Things are going well for the old towne team to start the season.  May they continue to erase the bile that was last season.

The Bruins spanked the Whalercanes tonight, 6-2.  Everyone and their uncle scored for the Bruins.  It’s nice to see offense like that.  It’d be nicer if  they continued to score at will, but they will probably lose their next game 1-0.

There… I posted something.

The streak continues!

The Jagr Era Begins!

Jaromir Jagr made his debut as a Bruin last night.  How’d he do?  Not bad.  He scored the only goal in a 1-0 Bruins win over the Devils.  Just a game winning goal in his first game, that’s all.  Just 15,000 Boston fans chanting his name as if he were the second coming of Phil Esposito.  That’s all.

May it be the first of many.

Go Bruins!

They Got Their Defenseman

For weeks now, we’ve been hearing that Bruins GM Peter Chiarelli was going to try to add  a forward and a defenseman.  Yesterday they got the forward in Jaromir Jagr.  Today they got the defenseman.

Wade Redden.

Unfortunately.

Redden is a former Ottawa teammate of Zdeno Chara and Chris Kelly.  I can recall a while back when Ottawa was in a pickle over which of their two excellent defensemen they were going to sign and which they were going to let get away via free agency.  They signed Chara.  They let Redden walk.  He signed a large contract with the Rangers and ended up being the captain of their AHL affiliate.  He became the poster child for NHL teams who hide huge, bad contracts in the minors.  When the new CBA eliminated that loophole, the Rangers bought him out and he signed with the Blues.  He has five points in 23 games this year.  Not exactly a show stopper.

The Bruins gave up a seventh round pick for him, so it’s not that bad a deal.  I hope Redden can find a little of his old self by being around Chara again.  I sort of expect him to be a spot starter who is a healthy scratch more often than not.  He’s probably better than some of the Providence players we’ve had filling in for injuries, but not by much.

The big news for Bruins fans, however is that Patrice Bergeron seems to have suffered concussion #4 last night.  Without him, we aren’t going far.  Get well soon.

Is That All it Took

I don’t get it.

The Bruins opened the season on fire, but then went into a skid. Over the last few weeks they have looked at times bored, confused, and just plain bad. Yeah, they beat the Sabers the other night, but they looked like they slept through the first 40+ minutes or so. It was enough to make one worry about the future.

Then yesterday they get a 41 year old fossil in a trade. Yes he can still play, but his career is older than some of the players. I’m not knocking him, really, he’s just very old in hockey terms. Lets face it, Jagr and I are the same age.

The newly acquired Jaromir Jagr will join the team today and make his game debut tomorrow. What about last night though? The Bruins played the Never Say Die Senators without their new future hall of famer. How did they play? Like maniacs, that’s how. They still managed only three goals in their 3-2 win, but they were flying around the ice like they had something to prove. They actually looked awake and into the game. It was awesome to watch!

My question then is, was that all it took? Was the difference between boring and awesome simply grabbing a fossil off the rental heap? If so, why didn’t they grab some old guy two weeks ago?

In all seriousness, I’m looking forward to seeing Jagr play in a Bruins uniform.

In more all seriousness, I still would have preferred getting Iginla.

In still more seriousness, if Patrice Bergeron is going to miss games due to what ever caused him to leave in the 2nd period last night then the season is over. Bergeron is by far our best player (no offense to Zdeno Chara) and we simply are not winning anything without him. Fingers crossed.

Jagr to the Bruins?

The Hockey News is reporting that the Bruins have acquired Jaromir Jagr from Dallas for two draft picks and two prospects.  Here is the story.

So the question is, do we believe it?  Is Jagr going to wait until midnight tonight and decide he would rather go back to Pittsburgh?  Should we believe anything the hockey press tells us?  Should we believe anything NHL General Managers tell us?

If it’s true, is it a good pick up?  Yeah, it’s okay.  He’s ancient at 41 years old, but he still has some of his old skill.  Every year the Bruins try to trade for some one who will beef up their anemic power play.  Jagr has as good a chance of righting that particular ship as anyone in the league.

I would have greatly preferred getting Jarome Iginla.  I have no proof to back this up, but I have always been given the impression that Iginla is a major team guy, while Jagr is much more selfish.  I guess Boston will find out.

Assuming, of course, he doesn’t end up in Pittsburgh.