Win Win Win

The Red Sox took a 2-0 lead in their ALDS series against Tampa Bay with a 7-4 win tonight. David Ortiz hit two home runs. The second has yet to land.

The Bruins beat the Red Wings 4-1. They are 2-0 on the young season.

Some fat boy got new glasses.

20131005-213829.jpg

Win, win, win.

Bruins

Did I mention that the Bruins opening game is tonight at 7:00ish?

No lockouts.

Full season.

Jarome Iginla (finally).

Patrice Bergeron will have two lungs this time, unlike game six of the finals last year.

After last season, anything short of a Stanley Cup Championship will be (another) gut wrenching disappointment.

It’s going to be a really fun season, I can feel it.

Go Bruins!

The Return of Tim Thomas

Tim Thomas agreed to a try out deal with the Florida Panthers. Let’s start by saying that no one was ever a bigger fan of Tim Thomas the goalie than I was. I watched him in Providence, I watched him come out of nowhere and steal an NHL job through nothing more than hard work, I watched him become a starter, a Vezina winner, and a Conn Smythe winning Stanley Cup champ. I rooted for him all the way. He was the best.

Off the ice he turned out to be a tea party-esque nut job, and while that was totally distracting and annoying, it never changed the fact that he was Tim “The Man” Thomas in net. I don’t care what his politics or personal life are like (although I’d draw the line at rooting for him if he turned out to be chummy with the Hitler or Stalin types, you know?), hell I don’t even care if you’re a complete asshole. If you work hard and do your best by us, the fans, then I’ll tip my hat to you and give you my sincere thanks.

But noooooooooooooo.

Timmy had to break the contract that he agreed to that would pay him a truck load of money in order to spend time with his family. What’s the truth? I would put money on Timmy not liking either his teammates, his management, or the city, but how do I know. What it comes down to is that he screwed us, the fans, last season and for that I say to hell with him. I hope he never plays another game in the NHL. It shows you how insanely desperate the Panthers are to give a deal, even if it’s just a PTO, to a 39 year old with a history of breach of contract. If he wants to go play in Finland again, then good luck to him. Don’t let the door hit you on the ass on the way out. I don’t ever want to see him playing in an NHL game again.

There is only one thing that Boston sports fans truly want from their professional athletes. We want them to work hard and do their best. That’s it. Really. If any fan base realizes that winning isn’t everything, it’s the fan base that stood behind a Red Sox team that went 86 years without a title. We want you to win, but if you work hard and do your best and come up short then we’re still going to hero worship the shit out of you. Thomas used to be the perfect guy for Boston, and then he screwed us over and went home for a year. To hell with him.

Tyler Seguin

So the giant bear at the Granite Steak and Grill in Rochester, NH and I were talking tonight. I told him that I read on twitter that the Boston Bruins had traded Tyler Seguin. I couldn’t believe it, and neither could the bear. What an idiot move!

photo

Stanley Cup Finals Recap – A Choke for the Ages

With 76 seconds left in game six, the Bruins were leading 2-1. Bob Stanley walked in the tying run. Then with 59 seconds left Mookie Wilson hit a little dribbler that went through Bill Buckner’s legs and the Bruins lost the game, the series, and the Stanley Cup finals.

And I never want to speak of it again.

Stanley Cup Finals Game Six – Please Don’t Let it End This Way

Hey Bruins.  One more game.  That’s all we want.  Just one more game after tonight.  This playoff run has been a blast.  Please don’t let it end tonight.  The schedule allows for one more game after tonight, so why not just win tonight and make use of it?  That would be pretty cool, right?  Extend this magical little run you guys are on for a couple of days and play that game seven.  All you need to do to keep the fun alive is win tonight.  That’s not a big deal, is it?  You’ve already beaten these Chicago pukes twice in this series, what’s one (two) more win?  Nothing, right?  So why not win tonight?  Then you get to go back to Chicago (where I’m sure it’s really nice to visit, despite the bandwagon and all) and play game seven on Wednesday.  I don’t want to look ahead to the ramifications of a game seven, I just want there to be a game seven.  Don’t you guys want that too?  I bet you do.  You’re so close, why not keep it alive for a few more days?

So go out there on the Garden ice tonight with your die hard fans backing you up and win the game.  No biggie, just win the game.  We all know you can do it.  Chicago is a good team, but so are the Bruins.  Go ahead, win game six.  We all know you wanna.

Go Bruins!

Stanley Cup Finals Game Five – Greetings from the Tobin Bridge

Hi everyone, I am writing this post whilst standing in line at the Tobin Bridge.  There are about 13,909 Bruins die hard fans here all  lined up to hurl themselves off the highest point on the bridge due to the sheer misery of last night’s loss.  I figured as my final act before throwing myself into oblivion with all of these other fine Bruins-obsessed folks, that I would talk to some people and maybe find out what is going through the minds of the fellowship of the miserable.

First I spoke to a man named John Doe.  He was wearing a Bruins hat, a Bruins replica game jersey (black), Bruins pajama pants, and had Bruins shoe laces on his black and gold sneakers.  He looked very tired, as if he hadn’t slept since “the good old days” which is how he referred to life as a Bruins fan prior to the start of game four.  “I can’t take it,” said Mr. Doe.  “I can’t stand the thought of losing to those damn Chicago Blackhawks with their damn bandwagon fans.  I watched game two in a bar on the South Side of Chicago and I had one guy ask me if a goal was worth seven points, like a touchdown.  Another ‘fan’ says to me, ‘so if the ‘hawks lose tonight they’re out of it, right?’  One other fan took me aside during a commercial break and asked me, ‘what is this icing thing they keep talking about?’  I wanted to slit my wrist right then and there, but then we won the game so I celebrated like crazy for a couple of days instead.”

Later I spoke to a curiously dressed woman who told me her name was Jane Roe.  She was wearing a wedding dress that had a big spoked B painted on it.  After last night’s loss she took a black sharpie and covered the dress with black ink.  She even colored her veil black.  I asked her why she was wearing a wedding dress on the Tobin Bridge and she said she couldn’t remember.  She thought it had something to do with trying to tie the happiest day of her life, her wedding day, to the happiest day of her hockey life, winning a second cup in three years, but she said the details were fuzzy.  “I’ve been drunk since overtime started in game four,” she said.  I asked her why she was on the bridge and all she could say was, “Bergeron’s in the hospital.  No Bergeron, no cup.”  She repeated it constantly before her turn on the edge arrived.  Just before she threw herself off she looked relieved and said, “I’ll never have to live in a world where we lost the Cup to the friggin’ Blackhawks.”

A third gentleman I saw was wearing an impeccable tuxedo and holding a home made tin foil replica of the Stanley Cup.  I tried to ask him his name and what brought him to the bridge, but all he would say was, “friggin’ Jagr.  So close.  No goals.  Friggin’ Jagr.”  He stood there patiently for a few hours as fan after fan ended it all in Stanley Cup misery.  Then out of nowhere he lost his head completely.  He started screaming obscenities and forced his way past the security to the front of the line and then lept into thin air yelling, “screw you, Corey Crawford!”  It was one chaotic moment in an otherwise orderly mass hockey suicide.

That pretty much sums up the scene here on the Tobin.  Most people won’t talk.  They just stand there, waiting patiently for their turn on the ledge.  Most look dazed, pale, confused.  They are wondering what happened.  They are unable to figure out how the Bruins could be down three games to two to Chicago and they frankly can’t take it anymore.  The line is moving at a steady clip.  I figure my turn should come right around the start of game Six tomorrow night.  Maybe if they can get off to a good start, those who are still in line might change their mind for a while.  Umm… Bruins?  Speaking on behalf of everyone here… we could really use a win tomorrow.  I mean… really.  Really, we could seriously use a win tomorrow.  Just saying.  No pressure or anything but.  We sort of NEED A WIN.  If you know what I mean.

Go Bruins!

Friday

There is no hockey game tonight. That blows. I hate this two days between games crap. It’s torture, especially when your team lost the last game. We need a game tonight, damn it!

Hey, guess what. Today is the first day of summer. Yesterday was a beautiful day to send off Spring and now we have Summer. Today is the longest day of the year (sunlight wise), which to an eternal pessimist means: It’s all down hill from here. Or as folks in Game of Thrones would say, Winter is coming.

So I’ve watched every episode of Game of Thrones. When does it get good? No, really. It’s not bad. I wasn’t forced to watch three seasons (10 episodes per season… screw you and your crap HBO. How about 26 episodes per season the way the real networks do it. Jerks). It wasn’t bad. It’s just that so many people told me it was the greatest thing ever. I guess it just didn’t come close to living up to the hype. There are some characters that I really like (forgive me for not trying to spell first names) the dwarf Lannister (sp?) brother is the best part of the whole show. He’s smart, manipulative, and damn funny. I thought they under used him in season three. Hopefully that changes. Same thing with the younger of the Stark daughters. I expect her to be running things when the story ends, but she was sort of boring in season three. She did end with a bang though.

All in all, the show is okay. I’m not in a hurry for the next season to start, as I am with The Walking Dead, but it’s just sort of… okay. Why then did I start listening to the book on tape of the first book? Why? I know it’s just okay. Why? Urgh.

Happy Summer.
Go Bruins.