



I’m in the grocery store and Yes is playing over the PA system. Sure it’s “Owner of a Lonely Heart”, the shamefully poppy version of Yes, but still.
I feel like I’m in sell out city.
I don’t have any set ideas for New Years Resolutions. Just the usual stuff. Do I want to do something different this year and actually define a single resolution for the year and then stick to it (as if)? I don’t know.
Here are some possibilities…
That’ll do for now. I’ll think about other ideas to add over the next few days. 2025 is four days away.
It was like a three day weekend except that it happened in the middle of the week. Now it’s Friday and xmas is over and I am back at work and it sucks.
Well… sucks is probably over dramatic. I feel more like I wish I had taken today off as well and given myself a six day weekend, which would have felt more like an actual vacation. I’m off again on Wednesday for New Year’s Day, and then we’re back to normal for a few weeks until we go on Jen’s birthday trip to Florida late in January.
I planned to work in the office today, but my cold is still a thing so I am working from home. I probably won’t hit my in-the-office-quote for December now, but being sick and not wanting to spread the bug is an acceptable reason for coming up a little short. I do feel quite a bit better, but I am far from over it. Worse, I have a cold sore on my lip now. Oh good.
Okay. Time to get caught up on all of the email that came in while I was out. That should take a while. Wish me luck.
Wait just one second here…..
What do you mean tomorrow is only Friday and I have to go to work?
WhatWhatWhat???
FFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!
Hello and welcome to the annual December 26th edition of the “What the hell is Boxing Day, anyway?” post.
That’s rhetorical, of course. As someone from Massachusetts I have no experience of knowledge of what Boxing Day may or may not be and I do not really want to know, I just like speculating. The rest of the English speaking world (well… the UK and Canada… anyone else?) celebrates Boxing Day on the day after xmas. Why? Who? What? This year I chose to assume that it has something to do with Guy Fawkes (another English story that I have no clue about) and maybe boxing up little pieces of whatever he was going to use to blow up Parliament. Yeah, that works for clueless old Robbie.
I took today off from work, which is nice given that I still have a cold. I am a little bit better over the last two days, but it’s still pretty bad. Boo, and stuff. It’s cold. I overslept (and I really, really needed it). Now I have nothing on my agenda outside of hitting the grocery store.
Well… that and buying a new guitar. HA!
Happy Boxing Day to the world that celebrates and to those of us in the former US happy nothing special day that happens to be the day after xmas.
