I’m working from home today. I have about an hour left before quittin’ time. I have a radio broadcast streaming from my personal laptop to a pair of Apple HomePod Minis. What am I listening to?
I’m listening to opening day for the Boston Red Sox. They are playing the Cincinnati Reds on the road. We’re scoreless after one inning.
Here’s hoping that my Red Sox build on last year’s playoff season and don’t suck this year. The experts are predicting a pretty good season for my team and lets hope they are right. I don’t see a championship team, but I do see a pretty good team.
The Bruins are looking like a playoff team. They beat first place Buffalo last night. I don’t know though… all of the maga bullshit that happened after the Olympics has left me mostly uninterested in the NHL. Fuck them if they wanna be fascists. I bet most major league baseball players are in the same boat politically, they are all millionaires after all, but I am choosing to not think about that until they make me. I was like that with hockey and then they made me. Fuck ‘em.
Anyway… remember when the Reds always had the first game of the mlb season? When did that stop? There was a Yankees/Giants game last night so the opening of the season did not happen in Cincinnati. The Reds were the world’s first professional baseball team, predating the formation of the National League, which was the first professional baseball league. That’s why they were traditionally the first team to play each year. I guess not anymore. I guess traditions go down the toilet when the home run king was a steroid freak. Fuck ’em, right?
I don’t mean for this post to be negative. I am really happy to have baseball back. Don’t doubt it. Let’s go Red Sox, am I right? World Series or bust!