Patches is not a fan of my guitar playing. Nope, not at all.
Category: Uncategorized
Day One
Today is day one of my pre-gig straightening myself out. How did I do with my two goals for June?
Did I play my guitar? Yes! This morning before work I spent about 20 minutes playing.
Did I eat any crap? No! No regular coke, I brown bagged lunch instead of eating fast food, and I didn’t eat any crap between meals.
One day down.
Joe Thornton
It All Starts Tomorrow
I have my fist gig since 2005, one month and one day from tomorrow. If I don’t make changes to my daily routine right now I am going to embarrass the shit out of myself.
Here is what I need to do:
I need to practice the guitar EVERY EFFIN DAY. I’m not talking hours a day, but at least 15-30 minutes a day. That includes not only the songs in our sets, but picking exercises, scale exercises, improv exercises. All of that stuff. If I were to play in front of an audience right now it would go down as the single worst performance of my life, and I am not ready to hang that hat on my head yet.
I need to make physical changes. My back and my legs are so screwed up right now that I can’t stand up straight for five minutes, never mind a three hour show. Stop eating shit. Stop drinking coke. Get a little bit of goddamn exercise every day. Again, 5 minutes would be 5 minutes more than I’m getting right now. How about building up enough stamina in your back and legs to be able to stand up for an hour at a time, and how about a little strength in your hands to not be in pain when you play. You’re a big fat ass, Robert, but you aren’t a quadrapulegic. Stop acting like it.
Now that I’ve spelled it all out, I just have to do it, damn it.
Boozer
Happy Anniversary
Oh Woah is Me
Oh woah is me! One of the burners on our gas grill fell apart tonight!
The horror!
The horror!
The horror!
Wait, does this mean we can buy a new gas grill now? Weber, here we come!
Sparrows
I’m sitting on the patio watching as dinner cooks on the grill. I was just invaded by an army of sparrows. Like 20 of them. Most were buzzing around the bird feeder, but about five of them actually landed on the patio about 10 feet away from me. The noise right now is insane!
Found It
NHL Stanley Cup Predictions
You are all really impressed with my hockey playoff predicting skills. Six of eight in the first round, two of four in the second round (boo), and now two of two in the third round!
I picked the Penguins over the Lightning even though I hate the damn Penguins and I was right. I picked the Sharks over the Blues because Joe Thornton is winning the cup this year.
That’s 10 out of 14, I think. Let me do the math again… 6+2+2=10 and 8+4+2=14. Yes, 10/14. That’s 71.4%.
Now for the Stanley Cup finals. I think I gave my prediction away two paragraphs ago. When the playoffs started I said the Sharks were going to win the cup. Then after the first round I backed off a little and said they’d get to the Cup but they might lost to Washington. After the second round I doubled down on the original prediction. San Jose, Stanley Cup or Bust!
Joe Thornton was the first overall pick of the Boston Bruins in 1997 and then they traded him away to San Jose in the middle of his MVP season. It’s the second worst trade in Bruins history. At least the second worst that I know of. Only the Seguin for a bag of pucks trade was worse.
Then in San Jose Thornton played for a string of great teams that I always picked to win it but who choked their seasons away during the early rounds. I vowed never to pick them again. Then the Bruins puked away their season yet again and I was pissed off enough to pick San Jose.
And now here we are, with Joe Thornton and the Sharks poised to play against the Penguins. I hate the Penguins. I loathe the Penguins. Last round I picked with my head instead of my heart and I felt scummy every second of every game. Now my head and my heart are in sync and I get to pick against the effin’ Penguins again, and it feels good.
So I say the Sharks win it all, and Jumbo Joe Thornton finally gets his drink from the Stanley Cup.
Game one is tomorrow.
GO SHARKS!




