Bruins vs Penguins Game Three Tonight

Last night the LA Kings beat the Chicago Blackhawks to close the gap in the Western Conference Finals.  The ‘Hawks now lead two games to one.

Let’s hope that doesn’t happen in the East, right?

Game three between the heroic Boston Bruins and the loathsome Pittsburgh Penguins (yes, I am a homer.  Wanna make something of it?) is tonight at 8:00pm.  The Bruins hold a two games to none lead after shocking the crap out of the hockey pundits by winning the first two games of the series on the road.  The big question around these here parts was who would play goal for the Pens.  Apparently, Tomas Vokoun has said publicly that he’ll be playing tonight.  Is that true?  Is it a clever ruse?  Who knows.  The real question is, does it matter?  Will the Bruins that gutted out a game one win and then slaughtered the more talented Penguins going to keep their foot on the gas and take game three at home?

Let’s hope so!

Go Bruins!

Game Two Glory for the Boston Bruins

How on Earth did this happen?  Says Bruins nation gleefully.
How on Earth did this happen?  Says Penguin nation miserably.  Is there a Penguin nation?

The Bruins took game two of the Eastern Conference Finals last night in a score that looks very much like what most people thought a Penguins victory would look like.  6-1.  That’s Six goals for the defense first Bruins to One goal for the offensive juggernaut Penguins.  But… How?… What?… Who?…

The Bruins have a two games to none lead in the series.  They are two wins away from going back to the Stanley Cup Finals!  (They are also four measly losses away from going home for the summer.  I’m not going to be the overly optimistic guy who jinxes things for Bruins fans everywhere.  Nope, not me.  Nothing but cautious optimism from this guy)  Brad Marchand scored 28 seconds into the game and it was all downhill from there for Pittsburgh.  They pulled Vokoun after three goals and then saw Fleury give up three more.  There was exactly one downside to this game from a Boston standpoint.  That chump Tuukka Rask let in a goal.  Useless!  Trade his ass!  (that is sarcasm.  One goal in two games against this Penguins lineup?  I’d be more apt to put him in the hall of fame than trade him)

But… but… but… the Penguins were supposed to destroy us.  It was supposed to be ugly for Bruins fans.  Instead it’s been nothing but glory and tales to tell the grandchildren.

In other words, it’s been wicked fun!

Now we come home for games three and four.

Go Bruins!  Keep it up!  Beat the Penguins!  Do it quick because our collective stomachs can’t handle a swing in momentum!

GO BRUINS!

I Dreamed the Bruins Won Game One

I had a really nice happy dream last night. I dreamed that the Bruins took game one of the Eastern Conference Finals from the Penguins by a score of 3-0. Krejci scored twice, Horton scored once, and Tuukka Rask was out of his skull awesome in the shutout. It was a nice happy little dream.

What?

You’re saying that it wasn’t a dream?

The Bruins really did take game one last night?

Really?

Woohoo! Go Bruins!

PS: Does that mean the Red Sox really beat the Yankees 11-1 with Napoli hitting a grand slam? Sweet!

The Bruins Win!

Oh happy day!  The Bruins beat the Rangers tonight to advance to the Eastern Conference Finals for the second time in three years I don’t believe it I don’t believe it I don’t believe it!!!

The Rangers lead 1-0 after one period and then the Bruins went nuts.  They only scored twice during their monster second period, but that’s due more to Lundqvist being an animal in goal than to the Bruins lack of chances.  In the third Tuukka Rask made the save of the season on a breakaway.  It was a thing of beauty.

The Bruins now win face the Penguins in round three and they will be underdogs in a major way.  Pittsburgh is playing like titans right now.  They sure look unbeatable.  The Bruins will have their work cut out for them, but then again I thought they were going to get slaughtered by the Rangers, so what the hell do I know.

Go Bruins!

The Bruins Lost Game ? PANIC!

Oh no…

Not again.

The Bruins lost game four last night.  They now lead the Rangers three games to one.  Remember the last time this happened?  I do.  I’ll never forget.  2010, the nightmare that keeps on giving.

The Bruins played more than well enough to win last night, partly because for most of the game the Rangers played with the intensity of a minor league intra-squad scrimmage game.  The turning point was a bad goal off of Tuukka.  I haven’t seen a replay yet.  I listened on the radio last night so I was spared the horror.  Tuukka fell on his ass and the puck trickled into the goal in slow motion.  After that, the Rangers were better.

Game five is tomorrow evening.  It’s a 5:30pm start, I think.  Hopefully we’ll be back home from seeing Star Trek Into Darkness by then so I can torture the whole family by making them watch.

Muahahahaha!

Go Bruins.  Please don’t choke again.

Bruins Win Game Three

I have to admit, I’m completely hockey shocked. Last night the Bruins beat the Rangers in game three by a score of 2-1. The Bruins were down 1-0 after two periods and got two goals in the third from the fourth line. How the hell does anyone’s fourth line beat Heinrich Lundqvist twice in one period?

The Bruins now lead the series 3-0. I really thought the Rangers were going to beat us badly this round. I really did. I said before that there have been two Bruins teams this year. The awesome Bruins were the team we saw in the first half of this stupid mini-season. The crappy Bruins were the team we saw in the second half. It had been months since we saw the awesome Bruins, and therefore we had no reason to expect to see them again. Somehow though they are back and completely in control of this series.

But the first person to say that the 3-0 lead makes us a lock to win the series gets the entire 2010 post season shoved right down his/her throat. Never forget. Never again.

Game four is tomorrow night (I think). Close it out then.

Go Bruins!

Bruins Game Three

Hey, check it out… A post that isn’t about Flickr or Yahoo!

The Bruins trail the Rangers 1-0 after two periods. Lundqvist has been super human. The Rangers have not had a penalty called against them yet, even though Chara took a high stick to the head and was bloodied up.

The Bruins need to break through Heinrich in the third. We cannot let those friggin’ New Yorkers back into this series.

Go Bruins!

Bruins Win Game One

The Bruins won game one of their second round series against the Rangers last night on an overtime goal by Brad Marchand.  Here’s the highlight video.

The game seemed pretty even to my untrained eye through three periods.  The two goals Rask let in looked a touch on the soft side.  The first one more so.  Shockingly, the first goal that Lundqvist let in was just plain bad.  If Heinrich is going to be letting soft goals in then the Bruins have a chance.  If he brings his A game each night then… well… let’s say that Bruins chances will be significantly slimmer.

In overtime the Bruins were dominant.  They had one power play where they were able to set up in the Rangers zone and blitz them with shots for nearly the full two minutes.  The Rangers had a few chances in OT, but for the most part the Bruins had them on the heels the whole time.

The game winning goal was a thing of beauty.  It was Marchand’s first goal of the post season, and it came on a perfect centering pass from Patrice Bergeron.  Bergie is your MVP kids.  Don’t ever forget that.

Game two isn’t until Sunday.  Why?

Go Bruins!